Skip to main content

Psychology

Research guide to sources in Psychology

Dictionaries

This dictionary captures the characteristics of psychology as a living, scientific discipline by focusing on several defining characteristics such as comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international and cross-cultural.

Covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics

Encyclopedias

Ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology

Covers a broad range of issues, from biological and physiological changes in the body to changes in cognition, personality, and social roles to applied areas such as psychotherapy, long-term care, and end-of-life issues

Covers important research in all areas of behavioral neuroscience. Topics range from neuroethology and learning and memory, to behavioral disorders and psychiatric diseases, including addictions, anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, and autism.

Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioural and social sciences fields

Authoritative annotated bibliographies on key topics in psychology

Handbooks

Includes information on testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology, as well as school psychology and education.

Consult various APA handbooks on behaviour, counseling, addiction, testing, research, and more. 

A comprehensive summary of research into child development from age two to seven

Includes discoveries based in neuroscience, evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and social, developmental, and forensic psychology

The psychological assessment of children and youth has undergone significant developments, which are the focus of this Handbook. The volume is organized primarily, but not exclusively, around clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues.

Consult various Oxford handbooks on health psychology, clinical psychology, counseling psychology, and more.

A feminist multicultural perspective to core domains within counseling psychology such as ethical frameworks, lifespan development, identity formation and change, growth-oriented and ecological assessment, and career theory and practice

Includes theoretical overviews from some of the best-known thinkers in this area, including articles on Social Learning Theory, Control Theory, Self-determination Theory, Terror Management Theory, and the Promotion and Prevention perspective. 

Offers an overview of the field through an international team of contributors. Includes sections on culture, race, gender and sexuality, ageing, and health and mental health.

Consult various SAGE handbooks that focus on psychology. 

Recognized as the standard reference in the field, this combines basic experimental psychology and cognitive neuroscience

Librarian

Emily Kingsland's picture
Emily Kingsland
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-4782

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice