Skip to main content

Psychology

Research guide to sources in Psychology

Core databases

The primary database for psychology. It covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.

Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO

Full-text database of journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, and social/personality.

Quick reference guide - How to search PsycArticles 

The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

Multidisciplinary databases

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles in science, social science, and humanities. Allows for citation searching. 

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles in science, social science, and humanities. Allows for citation searching.

Additional databases

A subject index to over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers,and magazines. International and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities. Subjects covered include indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+, feminism, ecology, and democracy.

Covers records for articles, books, and videos on autism (from the National Autistic Society, UK)

Includes protocols and abstracts of peer-reviewed sources of evidence on the effectiveness of social and behavioural interventions. Subjects covered include education, criminal justice, and social welfare

Extensive coverage of nursing and allied health

Collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

European coverage in biomedicine and pharmacology

Full-text database for education, with journal articles and other education-related material such as books and reports.

Focuses on gender issues across a broad spectrum of subject areas 

Database of theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, and language research

Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

Provides citations and abstracts to international literature on PTSD and other mental-health conditions related to traumatic events

Contains journals on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development

Contains core social work and related journals in all areas of the social work profession

Covers literature from more than 1,800 journals in sociology

Theses and dissertations

Search the following tools to find theses and dissertations:

  • eScholarship@McGill 

    • An open access digital repository of publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students.
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text
    • Summaries and/or full text of dissertations from McGill University, as well as from other participating North American and European institutions. 

Librarian

Emily Kingsland's picture
Emily Kingsland
Contact:
Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9
514-398-4782

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice