Skip to main content

Management and Business

We recommend that you view company profiles from a number of databases to get a complete picture of a company, as the kinds of information, level of detail, and amount of related information will vary from database to database.

Note: It is typically easier to find information on public companies as they are required to make available corporate reports, financial reports, and other information. Private companies have no such obligation, so information is harder to find.

Company Research Databases

Description

Mergent Online offers provides company overviews, histories, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, competitors, and more. 

Coverage

50,000+ International Public Companies

Dun & Bradstreet's 20 million + Private Company Search

How to use

Basic Search

  • Searching on Mergent Online can be easy with the basic search. Input the name of the company or use their ticker name and select from the auto drop-down menu. Note that subsidiary companies will only be included under the parent so you will have to know the name of the parent company first.
  • You can also search for a list of companies within a specific industry by using a NAICS or SIC code. 

Advanced Search

  • Use the advanced search tab to refine a list of companies based on location, revenue, number of employee and more. Note whether you are looking for USA or International, Active or Inactive, and Public or Private companies.
APA citations for Mergent Online
Reference List
Corporate Author. (Date). Company Name
Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Mergent. (2019). Apple, Inc.. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

In-text Citation
(Mergent, Year)
For annual reports retrieved from Mergent Online: 

Reference List
Corporate Author of Annual Report. (Year, Month Day). Annual report. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Weyerhaeuser Co., Ltd. (2004, December 26). Annual report. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

In-text Citation
(Corporate Author of Annual Report, Year)
Description

CB Insights is a venture capital database featuring startups and private companies. The database includes brief company descriptions, financing details, and board members.

Coverage

International private companies, startups, venture capitalists. 

Some public company information.

 VPN required for off-campus access 

How to use

 

CB Insights advanced search filters for companiesIn order to access CB Insights, you will need to register for an account using your McGill University email and create a password. Navigating in CB Insights is very straightforward. You can keyword search for startups, topics, or venture capitalists. You can also search existing collections of companies or build your own collections. 

The Advanced Search feature allows you to narrow down by company, deals, or investors. You can use the search filters to target specific geographic regions, industries, revenue types, and more.

APA citations for CB Insights
Reference List
Corporate Author. (Year). Company NameRetrieved from Name of Library database.
CB Insights. (2019). MoneyTap. Retrieved from CB Insights database.

In-text Citation
(CB Insights, 2019).
Description

MarketLine provides company reports containing overviews, major products and services, key competitors, as well as SWOT analysis for larger companies.

Coverage

Over 30,000 international public and private companies.

 VPN required for off-campus access.

How to use 

There are a few different ways to gather company data in MarketLine. 

  1. Company Profile Searching

    On the homepage change the dropdown menu to "company profiles" and search the name of a company. You can open the report and download sections as a PDF.
     
  2. Browse by Company.

    Select the Companies menu from the top of the screen, here you can see global lists, news, and other key information. You can also keyword search for your company from here. 
     
  3. marketline company prospector pageBrowse by Database.

    Select the Database menu from the top of the screen, here you can choose from multiple different tools.

    The Company Prospector allows you to search M&As, private equity, capital raised, rankings and more.

    Deals allows you to track global market activity. 

    The Company Report Generator allows you to build a report with the companies available in the database.
     
  4. Browse by Analysis for Company Case Studies
APA citations for MarketLine
Reference List
Corporate Author. (Date). Title of report: Report type. Retrieved from Name of Library Databases
MarketLine. (2019a, September 27). Apple Inc.: Company profile. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.
MarketLine. (2019b). M&A deals announced (by value). Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database on 13 November 2019.

In-text Citation
(MarketLine, 2019a)
Description

Passport GMID is a Euromonitor International database that has company reports focused on the consumer goods market. These reports are focused on major companies.

Coverage

International major public companies.

How to use

Passport is easy to use through simple keyword searching, you can type the name of your company in the main search bar or use the company tab at the top of the screen. 

APA citations for Passport
Reference List
Corporate Author. (Date). Title of Report. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Euromonitor. (2019, March 7). Johnson & Johnson Inc. in beauty and personal care (world). Retrieved from Passport database.

In-text Citation
(Euromonitor, 2019).

Annual Reports

Annual reports are released yearly by public companies as part of their filings. In the U.S. these may be labeled 10K Reports. The following resources can be used to access a company's annual reports.


 

Analyst Reports


Company News

You can often find detailed and timely information about companies in academic journals, professional and trade magazines, and newspapers. These sources can be useful if you are having difficulty locating information on a private company, or if you want to supplement the information you've found in the core databases.

Tip: Use the advanced search interface on a database and to search for the company name in the company entity or company/organization field.

Statement on the Educational Use of Databases

The use of McGill Library's professional business databases is limited to academic purposes. These databases are not to be used on behalf of external organizations or for commercial reasons.

Students completing internships may not access resources and reports on behalf of their employers.

Please refer to the McGill Library policy on electronic resources or to the licensing and conditions of use for further information.

Most of the core databases will list a company's competitors, similar companies, or company in the same industry. Some competitors will be identified by the companies themselves and others will be supplied by the database, sometimes this is regardless of whether they actually compete for the same customers.

Company earnings calls take place when a public company speaks to shareholders about opportunities and threats facing the company or industry. These transcripts can often be downloaded from the company's corporate website or by using sources from our Finance guide.

Supply Chain information can be found for public companies in many of the company databases. Some best bets include Mergent Online and Bloomberg. 

Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats. You can find SWOT analyses for some major companies by searching for company reports in Marketline Advantage and Business Source Complete.

Parents vs. Subsidiaries

Companies sometimes own other companies, called subsidiaries. If the parent company is public, the parent company will usually file the financials and other corporate financial information from the subsidiary within its own financial results. 
You can do a quick Google search or look at a company's corporate webpage to determine if they are a subsidiary.

If a company is a subsidiary, this will result in difficulties distinguishing financials from the parent company. You will need to search for the parent within the provided databases.

Free Online Directories

Citing Business Resources

You can use the following sources to help you build your citations for your report.

Business Citation Guides:

Other Resources

  • Excelsior OWL
  • Zotero: Reference manager you can use to track your sources and build your bibliography in Word.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice