African History

From the Pharaohs to Fanon, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa's history. The text covers the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia.

Covers the history of the entire African continent, from prehistory to the present day.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated online encyclopedia of African History.

This book critically reflects upon the current state of the field of modern African history. It focuses on the history of the continent in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, although also looks back to the era of the Atlantic slave trade. Its aim is to consider the evolution of the field and to set out where, after fifty years of sustained research, it has arrived.

More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.
Reference collection (in library use only).

This substantial expansion and reworking of the classic Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (1997) covers the entire continent, from the Europe-facing shores of the Mediterranean to the commercial bustle of Cape Town. The set addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries. Features hundreds of photographs, maps, thematic outline, chronology, and appendix of ethnic and identity groups.
Reference collection (in library use only).

Excellent encyclopedic reference on the subject of colonialism and expansion. Features articles on individuals, countries, movements, and more.

This invaluable Dictionary provides an essential guide to the politics and economics of the African continent.