Guides: African History: Find Articles

Journals

Looking for articles on African history? Try these specialized databases:

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC South Africa, this resource combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Contains 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.

AfricaBib
Search for articles (and books) related to research in African Studies. Includes several bibliographic databases focused on aspects of African history and culture, such as African Women, Women Travellers to Africa, and Education in Africa.
African Journals Online
A collection of hundreds of African-published scholarly journals in multiple subject areas (primarily health and sciences). Some journals are open access; for others that are pay walled, try searching the McGill Library Catalogue. Items we do not own can be requested through Network or Interlibrary Loan.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. In the search options, select "Peer Reviewed" and enter "Historical Period" (e.g., Start Year: 1850 To End Year: 1917).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database containing the full text of over 500 scholarly journals. You can search the full range of journals, or a specific thematic subset in the "Advanced Search" such as African Studies and History.