Guides: SWRK 445: First Peoples and Social Work: Home

Related Guides

Indigenous Studies
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 1622 views this year
Social Work
by Nikki Tummon Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 2050 views this year
Canadian History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 1903 views this year
Indigenous Law Guide
by Ana Rogers Last Updated Oct 27, 2023 54 views this year
Aboriginal Law
by Ana Rogers Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 352 views this year

Archival Research Guide
by Jennifer Garland Last Updated Jul 19, 2023 433 views this year

TRC Reports

SUMMARY OF FINAL REPORT Honouring the Truth, Reconciling for the Future: Summary of the Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (2015) PDF & Print

FINAL REPORT Canada's Residential Schools: Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

Vol 1, pt. 1: Canada's Residential Schools: The History, Part 1 Origins to 1939
Vol 1, pt 1 Index
Vol 1, pt. 2: Canada's Residential Schools: The History, Part 2 1939 to 2000
Vol 1, pt 2 Index
Vol 2: Canada's Residential Schools: The Inuit and Northern Experience
Vol 2 Index
Vol 3: Canada's Residential Schools: The Metis Experience
Vol 3 Index
Vol 4: Canada's Residential Schools: Missing Children and Unmarked Burials
Vol 4 Index
Vol 5: Canada's Residential Schools: The Legacy
Vol 5 Index
Vol 6: Canada's Residential Schools: Reconciliation
Vol 6 Index

Calls to Action and other post-TRC Reports

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action (2015)

What We Have Learned: Principles of Truth and Reconciliation (2015)

The Survivors Speak: A report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (2015)

Finding Historical Sources

W.H. Pugsley Collection of Early Canadian Maps
Donated by William Howard Pugsley, this collection contains 50 digitized early maps of Canada and North America, with a focus on Eastern Canada and New France.
Fur Trade Fonds
This collection of websites provides access to full text manuscripts related to the North American fur trade, including the Masson Papers (letters, diaries, travel narratives, and other textual documents relating to the North West Company and the colonial-era fur trade), the business papers of James McGill, and a collection of voyageur contracts. The papers represent a settler perspective of North American places and peoples.
The Moravian Beginnings of Canadian Inuit Literature
This exhibition is part of the "Entendre et communiquer les voix du Nunavik/ Hearing and sharing the voices of Nunavik", a joint Université du Québec à Montréal and McGill University initiative.
McCord Museum - Indigenous Cultures Collection
The Indigenous Cultures collection is composed of over 16,000 archaeological and historical objects covering nearly 12,000 years of history; over 6,000 are available in the online collection.
First Nations Digital Document Source
The First Nations Digital Document Source (FNDDS) is a collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues. Documents include court decisions, legislation, treaties, claims policies, privy council orders, research guides, and instructional resources related to land claims and Aboriginal title, particularly in the Canadian context.
Shingwauk Narratives: Sharing Residential School History
An open-access online book from the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC), which hold letter books of two principals of the Shingwauk Residential School (Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario) dating from 1875-1904 and include a wealth of information about the early history of Shingwauk and Wawanosh.
Canada Year Book Historical Collection
Discover Canada's social and economic past through the people, events and facts that have shaped this vast country. Includes historical data in Statistics Canada's annual Canada Year Book during the first century of Canada's history, from 1867 to 1967.
NFB Indigenous Cinema
Discover the NFB’s rich online collection of Indigenous-made films. Offers the ability to filter by year.
NFB: Indigenous Peoples in Canada (First Nations and Métis)
Hundreds of films from shorts to full-length documentaries by and about Indigenous peoples available through the National Film Board (NFB). McGill subscription to NFB includes films marked 'Campus' as well as those accessible to the general public. Some films are not available through the streaming service.
Hansard/Canadian Parliamentary Debates
House of Commons and Senate debates from 1867-1993.
Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990
This database contains references to be found in more than 40,700 digitized pages of the original annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966 and the complete annual reports for the department of Indian Affairs from 1967 to 1990.
Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
Access to Indigenous-related content in LAC's collection, supporting Indigenous communities to preserve First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation cultures and languages.
We Are Here: Sharing Stories (LAC)
An initiative to digitize and describe hundreds of thousands of Indigenous-related collection items in Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) holdings. This content includes textual material, photographs, artwork, maps and publications related to First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, and comes from private donors, government records and published works.
Nations to Nations: Indigenous Voices at Library and Archives Canada
A free multimedia e-book featuring 28 essays and over 140 images. Indigenous staff at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) wrote the essays to offer personal interpretations of collection items such as journals, maps, artwork, photographs, publications and audiovisual recordings. This e-book provides unique perspectives of First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, and it shows the diversity of the histories, languages and cultures of Indigenous peoples.
Historical Canadian Textbooks
Browse historical Canadian textbooks available in the Internet Archive to discover how Canadian history was presented to the masses as part of education curriculum.

Finding Historical Newspapers

Newspapers
by Humanities and Social Sciences Library Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 15795 views this year

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage 1844-2018
Gazette (1857-2010); Montreal. (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Archive page content of the Gazette, precursor to the Montreal Gazette. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Manitoba Historical Newspapers
The Manitobia Project of the University of Manitoba includes a digital collection of 27 newspapers.
Prairie Newspapers
The University of Alberta offers dozens of digitized newspapers from the Prairie Provinces from 1871 to 2013.
British Columbia Historical Newspapers
The BC Historical Newspapers project features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, date from 1859 to 1995.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains historic pressings and contemporary periodicals, this collection explores nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada, with newspapers representing various publishers, audiences and eras. Highlights how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Finding Current Indigenous Newspapers

Anishinabek News
The voice of the Anishinabek nation (Union of Ontario Indians).
APTNnews.ca
News from the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.
Eagle Feather News
A monthly newspaper serving readers in Saskatchewan's First Nation and Métis communities.
The Eastern Door
A community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake, Quebec.
First Nations Drum
A national Indigenous newspaper distributed across Canada.
Ku'ku'kwes News
An independent Indigenous news website covering Atlantic Canada.
Nunatsiaq News
A newspaper covering Nunavut and Nunavik. Articles are published in English, French, Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun.
Nunavut News North
One of seven Northern News Services newspapers circulated in NWT and Nunavut.
Turtle Island News
National weekly news. Independently published by the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in Southern Ontario.
Wawatay News
A newspaper serving indigenous communities in Northern Ontario. News and features are published in English, Ojibway, OjiCree or Cree.
Windspeaker
One of several news sources operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta, published biweekly.
Yellowknifer (Northern News Services)
Based in Yellowknife. Publishes weekly.

E-News Services

Indigenous Top Ten
Biweekly e-newsletter highlighting ten top stories in Indigenous academia and higher education.
Media Indigena
Weekly podcast about Indigenous issues and events in Canada and beyond, hosted by Rick Harp in northern Saskatchewan.
Muskrat Magazine
Online Indigenous arts and culture magazine.
NationTalk
Indigenous newswire service which offers employment, events, and tender listings.
Footprint Press
Based in Mission, BC, Footprint Press is a non-profit community magazine published by the Citizens Against Urban Sprawl Society. Features content about nature and environmental issues, sometimes written by Indigenous activists.

Finding Academic Journal Articles

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews. Coverage: 1979 - current. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, it features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and dissertations. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Make an appointment with me!

To book a research consultation

CLICK HERE

Liaison Librarian

Nikki Tummon

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library RM-27A

514-398-5727

Subjects: Anthropology, Social work, Sociology

SWRK 445: First Peoples and Social Work