Guides: MGCR 360 Social Context of Business: Position Paper

Finding Scholarly Resources

Use the Library Catalogue WorldCat to find books and media on your chosen research topic and use Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform (ProQuest) to find scholarly articles in the business field.

McGill Library Catalogue - Sofia
Use this to find print and e-books on your topic.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for news, scholarly and trade journal articles on business, companies, markets and more.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for news, scholarly and trade journal articles on business, companies, markets and more.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs: publications from Canada

More resources
Visit our other guides to research companies, industries, consumers or more.

Finding News

Current Newspapers
Includes resources containing Quebec, Canada and International news. For browsing, scroll down and select PressReader.
Business news & articles
Includes sources and information related to business news.

Forming a Search Strategy

Boolean Operators

Operator	Description
AND	Use to narrow your search: Climate AND Change
OR	Use to expand your search: Climate OR Environment
NOT	Use to exclude a search term: Climate NOT Change
( )	Use for nesting a query within a search: (Climate OR environment) AND Change
" "	Use to enclose specific phrases: "climate change"

Wildcards, Truncation, and Date Limiters

Symbol	Description
?	Use to replace a character in a word: Behavio?r
*	Use to retrieve variants of a root word: Sustain*
< / >	Use to search before or after a publication year: >2010
-	Use to indicate a date range: 2010-2018

Searching Social Media

Below are some library resources that include social media content.

Eureka
- This link opens in a new window
Reduce your results to social media sources.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Limit to social media results.

Finding Statistics and Government Information

Policy Commons (Coherent Digital)
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
PAIS Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more on many topics including politics, human rights, labour relations, and economic conditions.
IMF eLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
UN iLibrary (United Nations)
- This link opens in a new window
The United Nations iLibrary provides search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Business-related statistics from a wide variety of sources.

Using Authoritative Sources

Authoritative Sources

Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are considered authoritative.
Articles from major news outlets are considered authoritative.
But what about other kinds of information? You may also use books, interviews, data from government and non-governmental agencies and more.
You need to evaluate whether the information you find is coming from an authoritative source.
- What is the expertise of the source?
- How accurate is the information?
  - Are sources of ideas and facts properly cited? Are they reliable?
- Why was the information produced?
  - To entertain? To sell something? To advance a specific agenda?
- How are you using the information?

MGCR 360 Social Context of Business

Chat in Teams!

Librarian

Liaison Librarian for Management & Business