Skip to main content

South Asian studies

Welcome - آداب - नमस्ते - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on sources for the study of South Asian Islam with a focus on Pakistan and India. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

South Asian collections in North America

Catalog of the Roja Muthiah Research Library (RMRL) was founded in 1994. It provides research materials and facilities for students of Tamil studies in a variety of fields spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American Universities, colleges and independent research libraries.

Digital South Asia Library (University of Chicago) is perhaps the most valuable and important website for South Asian studies, it contains numerous free dictionaries, images, indexes, statistics, government documents, etc.

Library of Congress has one of the largest and richest collections of South Asian materials in North America.

South Asia Library Consortia (University of Chicago) contains a number of excellent sites and resources pertaining to South Asian studies including bibliographies, indexes, etc.

South Asian Periodicals Index (University of Wisconsin - Madison) provides bibliographic citations to the extensive periodical literature published in and about South Asia.  An ever growing resource, the South Asian Periodicals Index strives to be inclusive in terms of subject matter, geographic heritage and linguistic origin.

The Urdu Research Library Consortium (URLC) makes partially accessible the private Urdu collection of Mr. Abdus Samad Khan considered "one of the world's finest for early Urdu periodicals and printed books" from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Out of the 26,000 monograph titles in the URLC collection, approximately 6000 titles can be searched in the database.

South Asian collections worldwide

The Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library reflect the territorial interests and activities of the East India Company and the India Office, and include literature and documents on India, Pakistan, Burma, Bangladesh and neighbouring countries, Iran and the Gulf states, South Africa, St. Helena, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, China and Japan.

The South Asia Union Catalog is a historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice