A Dictionary of Public Health
This link opens in a new window
Global Population Health and Well-Being in the 21st Century by
"This book provides an excellent foundation for students seeking a context for global models and practices in population health...an excellent primer for those who are ready to engage in global health projects." --Jay E. Maddock, PsycCRITIQUES "A must read for public health, clinical, and social care students, teachers, and practitioners alike, including case studies to provide a thorough and up-to-date account of the past, present, and future of global public health. Dr Lueddeke effectively highlights the ingenuity gap between today's wicked problems and their potential solutions, with a timely emphasis on the concepts of "planetary health" and "integrative ecological public health..". A] very informative and groundbreaking read." -- Dr Behrooz Behbod, MB ChB MSc ScD MFPH, Founder, Oxford Public Health Ltd, Oxford Book Review "This book delivers a timely and holistic perspective on population health, providing data and support for innovating and integrating clinical medicine, public health, wellness practices, and healthcare education worldwide... Fills a gap in the literature by addressing population health from a global perspective and considering global public health from the viewpoints of the individual and from the biopsychosocial model of health. Score: 93 - 4 Stars " --Ruthann Russo, PhD, JD, MPH, LAc, The College of New Jersey, Doody's Reviews "This is a remarkable, much-needed book that fills a significant gap in the health and social care literature in the early decades of the 21st century - public, global, clinical, ecological. It is powerful, ambitious, comprehensive, and sweeping at the same time that it is visionary, focused, and deep. Its power and passion are about the potential of population health and well-being optimally applied around the globe to help in creating a world that is healthier, safer, more just, and more sustainable." --Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, Alumni Distinguished Professor and Dean, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (From the Foreword) Drawing on current research and the expertise of world-recognized leaders in public, global, clinical, and social health in both developed and developing nations, this book delivers an evidence-based examination of 21st-century challenges in global population health and well-being. With special attention given to major initiatives of the United Nations, especially its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 2016 - 2030, and the priorities of the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Bank, Dr. Lueddeke articulates an imperative to adopt a "One World, One Health" view that recognizes the interdependence of humans, animals, plants, and the environment. The book/text promotes innovative and transformative paradigms for global public health practice, curricula, workforce training, and leadership. Intended for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in global public health, it will also be a welcome addition to the libraries of practitioners and policy-makers at all levels in the public/population/global health continuum. KEY CONTENT AREAS INCLUDE: The historical context of public health from early medicine to present day Exemplary educational initiatives: WHO education guidelines; curriculum commentaries from China, South Africa, and Cuba; a proposed Global Framework for Public Health Services and Functions; and case studies from South America (PAHO/ WHO), India (IPHF), and South Africa (PHASA) The changing roles and educational expectations of public and global health professionals in the early decades of the 21st century The complex interdependence of natural, socioeconomic, and political systems at local, national, regional, and global levels The causes of interstate conflicts and longer-term chal
This link opens in a new window
A History of Public Health by
Since publication in 1958, George Rosen's classic book has been regarded as the essential international history of public health. Describing the development of public health in classical Greece, imperial Rome, England, Europe, the United States, and elsewhere, Rosen illuminates the lives and contributions of the field's great figures. He considers such community health problems as infectious disease, water supply and sewage disposal, maternal and child health, nutrition, and occupational disease and injury. And he assesses the public health landscape of health education, public health administration, epidemiological theory, communicable disease control, medical care, statistics, public policy, and medical geography. Rosen, writing in the 1950s, may have had good reason to believe that infectious diseases would soon be conquered. But as Dr. Pascal James Imperato writes in the new foreword to this edition, infectious disease remains a grave threat. Globalization, antibiotic resistance, and the emergence of new pathogens and the reemergence of old ones, have returned public health efforts to the basics: preventing and controlling chronic and communicable diseases and shoring up public health infrastructures that provide potable water, sewage disposal, sanitary environments, and safe food and drug supplies to populations around the globe. A revised introduction by Elizabeth Fee frames the book within the context of the historiography of public health past, present, and future, and an updated bibliography by Edward T. Morman includes significant books on public health history published between 1958 and 2014. For seasoned professionals as well as students, A History of Public Health is visionary and essential reading.
This link opens in a new window
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by
International Encyclopedia of Public Health, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set is an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, this new edition combines complementary scientific fields of inquiry, linking biomedical research with the social and life sciences to address the three major themes of public health research, disease, health processes, and disciplines. This book helps readers solve real-world problems in global and local health through a multidisciplinary and comprehensive approach. Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health. Additional articles on the history of public health, global issues, research priorities, and health and human rights make this work an indispensable resource for students, health researchers, and practitioners alike. Provides the most comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work available on public health Presents an invaluable resource for both researchers familiar with the field and non-experts requiring easy-to-find, relevant, global information and a greater understanding of the wider issues Contains interdisciplinary coverage across all aspects of public health Incorporates biomedical and health social science issues and perspectives Includes an international focus with contributions from global domain experts, providing a complete picture of public health issues
This link opens in a new window
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Textbook of Public Health by
This fifth edition of the ever-popular Oxford Textbook of Public Health has been thoroughly updated, and remains the ultimate resource on the subject of public health and epidemiology. Two new editors, Mary Ann Lansang and Martin Gulliford, join the established editor team of Roger Detels andRobert Beaglehole, representing a truly global outlook from four continents. The contributors are drawn from across the world, offering perspectives from vastly different health systems, with ranging public health needs and priorities. With contributors including Dr Margaret Chan, Director of theWorld Health Organization, this book offers a globally comprehensive picture of modern health.The book retains its approach of dividing the complex, dynamic subject of public health into three topics. First, the scope of public health is covered, looking at the development of the discipline, determinants of health and disease, public health policies, and law and ethics. The second volumefocuses on the methods of public health, including the main science behind the discipline - epidemiology. Environmental factors, information systems, and social science techniques are also considered. Finally, the third volume puts the theory into practice, examining specific public health problemsand options for prevention and control. As well as identifying these issues by system or disease, there is also an awareness of the unique needs of particular population groups. The book concludes with an analysis of the functions of public health, and a look at the future of public health in the21st century.The picture of world health has moved on dramatically since the publication of the fourth edition in 2002. This new edition includes substantial new material on the impact of private support of public health; globalization; water and sanitation; leadership; community-intervention trials; disease andinfection; gene environment interactions; obesity and physical inactivity; urbanization; minorities and indigenous populations; health needs assessment; clinical epidemiology; and the practice of public health. This ensures that the Oxford Textbook of Public Health remains the most comprehensive,accessible text for both students and practitioners in public health and epidemiology.
Population Health: Concepts and Methods by
Population health encompasses traditional public health and preventive medicine but emphasizes the full range of health determinants affecting the entire population rather than only ill or high-risk individuals. The population health approach integrates the social and biological, thequantitative and qualitative, recognizing the importance of social and cultural factors in practice and research. This text is organized around the logical sequence of studying and attempting to improve the health of populations; measuring health status and disease burden, identifying and modeling health determinants, assessing health risks and inferring causation, designing research studies, planninginterventions, and evaluating health programs. The second edition incorporates many new topics that reflect changes in contemporary public health concerns and our response to them; as well as shifts in research directions. These include lifecourse approaches to health, gene-environment interactions,emergent infections, and bioterrorism. Among the specific changes are new or expanded discussions of confidence intervals for commonly used rates, the impact of population aging on mortality trends, health survey questionnaires, summary measures of population health, the new InternationalClassification of Functioning, Disability and Health, migrant studies, race and ethinicity, psychoneuroendocrine pathways, social epidemiology, risk perception, communicating the SARS epidemic, ecologic studies, the odds radio, paticipatory research, suicide, evidence-based community interventions,evaluation methods and health economics, the Cochrane Collaboration, and systemic reviews. The many positive features of the first edition have been retained, such as the extensive use of boxes, case studies, and exercises; the selection of examples representing a variety of health problems, geographic regions, and historical periods; and a multidisciplinary orientation bridging thequantitative and qualitative, the social and biomedical sciences. The book aims to spark a new kind of broad-based training for researchers and practitioners of population health.
Public Health: What It Is and How It Works by
Using a straightforward systems approach, Public Health: What It Is and How It Works explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important. The book covers the origins and development of the modern public health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.
Rose's Strategy of Preventive Medicine by
The Strategy of Preventive Medicine, by Geoffrey Rose, first published in 1993 remains a key text for anyone involved in preventive medicine. Rose's insights into the inextricable relationship between ill health, or deviance, in individuals and populations they come from, have transformed ourwhole approach to strategies for improving health. His personal and unique book, based on many years research, sets out the case that the essential determinants of the health of society are to be found in its mass characteristics. The deviant minority can only be understood when seen in its societalcontext, and effective prevention requires changes which involve the population as a whole. He explores the options for prevention, considering them from various viewpoints - theoretical and scientific, sociological and poitical, practical and ethical. The applications of his ideas are illustratedby a variety of examples ranging from heart disease to alcoholism to road accidents. His pioneering work focused on a population wide approach to the prevention of common medical and behavioural disorders has become the classic text on the subject.This reissue brings the original text to a new generation involved in preventive medicine. Kay-Tee Khaw and Michael Marmot retain the original text intact, but have added their own perspective on the work. They examine what relevance Rose's ideas might have in the era of the human genome project andother major scientific advances, they consider examples of how the theory might be applied and generalised in medicine and beyond, and discuss what implications it holds for the future. There is also an explanation of the population perspective, clarifying the often confused thinking and argumentsabout determinants of individual cases and determinants of population incidence.Rose's Strategy of Preventive Medicine will ensure that this seminal work continues to be read by future generations.
Social Determinants of Health by
The primary factors that shape the health of Canadians are not medical treatments or lifestyle choices but rather the living conditions they experience. These conditions have come to be known as the social determinants of health. This information - based on decades of research and hundreds of studies in Canada and elsewhere - is unfamiliar to most Canadians. Canadians are largely unaware that our health is shaped by how income and wealth is distributed, whether or not we are employed and if so, the working conditions we experience. Our health is also determined by the health and social services we receive, and our ability to obtain quality education, food and housing, among other factors. And contrary to the assumption that Canadians have personal control over these factors, in most cases these living conditions are - for better or worse - imposed upon us by the quality of the communities, housing situations, work settings, health and social service agencies, and educational institutions with which we interact. Improving the health of Canadians requires we think about health and its determinants in a more sophisticated manner than has been the case to date. Social Determinants of Health: The Canadian Facts considers 17 social determinants of health: 1. Income and Income Distribution 2. Education 3. Unemployment and Job Security 4. Employment and Working Conditions 5. Early Child Development 6. Food Insecurity 7. Housing 8. Social Exclusion 9. Social Safety Net 10. Health Services 11. Geography 12. Disability 13. Indigenous Ancestry 14. Gender 15. Immigration 16. Race 17. Globalization The publication outlines why they are important; how Canada is doing in addressing them; and what can be done to improve their quality. The purpose of the document is to provide promote greater awareness of the social determinants of health and the development and implementation of public policies that improve their quality.
Social Injustice and Public Health by
AN ESSENTIAL WORK ON SOCIAL DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH, NOW UPDATED AND EXPANDEDThis newly revised edition of the classic text is a comprehensive, up-to-date resource for understanding and addressing the profound impacts of social injustice on public health. Across chapters from experts in health and medicine, readers learn to recognize both the threads of inequity and thehealth impacts they produce. The result is illuminating and essential reading for students and professionals in public health.Enriched with photographs and case examples and featuring contributions from the luminaries whose work helped define the field, Social Injustice and Public Health is a foundational text for understanding and addressing today's biggest challenges in health.
This link opens in a new windowIndividual ebook titles are catalogued and available through Sofia, the McGill Library Discovery Tool. Below is a list of many of our health sciences ebook platforms that can also be directly browsed or searched for relevant material, often including full-text searching options.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
