Links to sites displaying images from The Visible Human Project, which is a National Library of Medicine digital image dataset of complete human male and female cadavers in MRI, CT and anatomical modes.
Clinical, reference and review books in a wide range of subjects across medicine
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. NetterThe only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H. Abrahams; Jonathan D. Spratt; Johannes M. Boon; Ralph T. HutchingsMap out all of the key structures of the human body with examples of real human dissections...and easily place them in a clinical context! This popular atlas incorporates an unrivalled collection of cadaveric, osteological, and clinical images with surface anatomy models, interpretive drawings, orientational diagrams, and diagnostic images - emphasizing a well-rounded visual perspective of a real human body as seen by modern doctors. The 6th Edition offers new endoscopic images, 250 new dissection photos (including eight pages of new dissections on lymphatics), and 300 new clinical thumbnails. A bonus DVD - new to this edition - includes 1,000 additional photos not found in the text, as well as questions and answers that accompany each section from the book. Displays X-ray, MR, and CT images next to corresponding dissections, showing how to recognize anatomic structures in diagnostic images. Presents interpretive drawings to help you differentiate between structures with a similar appearance (i.e., veins, arteries, and nerves). Offers orientational diagrams that make it easier to relate the dissections in the text to real experiences in the lab. Provides an unobstructed view of the artwork by using a numbered labeling system, which also allows you to self-test by covering up the key and identifying each numbered structure yourself. Presents 300 new clinical thumbnails - with relevant clinical notes and additional images on the DVD - that emphasize the clinical relevance of images depicted and demonstrate their clinical relevance. Offers 250 new dissection photos that enhance the overall quality and scope of the images shown · eight pages of new dissections on lymphatics · 50 new illustrations reflecting the increasing use of diagnostic imaging in anatomy teaching · and 20 new endoscopic images to reinforce memorization of structures. Features a bonus DVD with 1,000 clinical photos not found in the text...more information on clinical correlations...and questions and answers that accompany each section of the book.
Essential Clinical Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. DalleyEssential Clinical Anatomy, Fourth Edition presents the core anatomical concepts found in Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Sixth Edition in a concise, easy-to-read, and student-friendly format. The text includes clinical Blue Boxes, surface anatomy and medical imaging and is an ideal primary text for shorter medical courses and/or health professions courses with condensed coverage of anatomy. The Fourth Edition features a modified layout with new and improved artwork. The clinical Blue Boxes are now grouped to reduce interruption of text and are categorized with icons to promote easier comprehension of clinical information. A companion website includes fully searchable online text, interactive cases, USMLE-style questions, and clinical Blue Box video podcasts. Online faculty resources include an Image Bank and a Question Bank.
Publication Date: 2010-01-08
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Heddwen L. Brooks; Jason YuanThe leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. *More than 600 full-color illustrations *Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style *NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts *NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text
Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. DalleyReal-world guidance for today's anatomy lab. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations provide students with the ultimate lab resource. For more than seventy years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy has continually adapted to meet the needs of each generation of students, while maintaining the Grant's tradition of excellence. The meticulously updated fourteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new features that make it even more practical and user-friendly: Recolorization of the original Grant's Atlas images from high-resolution scans add a new level of organ luminosity and tissue transparency, and enable the formation of 3D constructs for each body region. This lavish visual enhancement ensures a vastly improved experience in learning the structure and function of the human body. See the enhanced color and detail here: https://youtu.be/KdLzQUoG54Y Schematic illustrations now feature a uniform style and consistent coloring , clearly showing the relationships of structures and clarifying anatomical concepts. Newly revised legends with highlighted clinical applications describe the anatomic features and provide context for health care practice. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings. Updated and improved tables help organize muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study.
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Gray's Anatomy by Susan Standring (Editor-In-Chief)In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. MitchellEasy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 4th Edition, is medical students' go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia tools that facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors and global advisors share their extensive teaching and clinical experience, highlighted by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations throughout the text. Helps students understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Presents anatomy logically by body region, and now offers bonus eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective - covering the Cardiovascular System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Urogenital System, Lymphatic System, and Nervous System. Features an all-new eBook chapter covering the essentials of neuroanatomy, so readers can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Offers new schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for students' own anatomy drawings. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, clinical cases, an Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, plus new clinical cases, images, and correlates throughout. Enables readers to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body by Marios Loukas; Brion Benninger; R. Shane TubbsPerfect for hands-on reference, Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body, 2nd Edition is a practical resource in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! The fully revised second edition of this unique dissection guide uses superb full-color photographs to orient you more quickly in the anatomy lab, and points out the clinical relevance of each structure and every dissection. Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. Use this unique guide as a hands-on reference in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Access to the complete enhanced eBook version, including 68 BONUS dissection videos (with the printed book) Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All-new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including 68 bonus dissection videos - from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Human Anatomy by Michael J. Timmons; Robert B. Tallitsch; Frederic H. MartiniCelebrated for its atlas-style format, appropriately detailed anatomical illustrations, and exceptionally clear photographs of tissues and cadavers, the Seventh Edition of the award-winning Human Anatomy presents practical applications of anatomy and physiology in a highly visual format. Select Clinical Notes feature dynamic layouts that integrate text with visuals for easy reading. Clinical Cases relate clinical stories that integrate text with patient photos and diagnostic images for applied learning. Time-saving study tools, including end-of-chapter practice and review, help students arrive at a complete understanding of human anatomy. This is the standalone book. If you want the package order: 0321687949 / 9780321687944 Human Anatomy with MasteringA&P(tm) Package consists of: 0321688155 / 9780321688156 Human 0321724569 / 9780321724564 Martini's Atlas of the Human Body 0321734890 / 9780321734891 MasteringA&P(tm) with Pearson eText Student Access Code Card for Human Anatomy 0321754182 / 9780321754189 Practice Anatomy Lab 3. 0321766296 / 9780321766298 Wrap Card for Human Anatomy with MasteringA&P
Publication Date: 2011-01-14
McMinn's Color Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H. Abrahams; R. M. H. McMinn; Sandy Marks; Ralph T. HutchingsThis popular atlas maps out the structures of the human body and puts them in a clinical context. It incorporates an unrivalled collection of cadaveric, osteological, and clinical images with surface anatomy models, interpretive drawings, orientational diagrams, and diagnostic images. The 5th Edition features over 50 new dissection photos, many of which are taken from a distance to make them more recognizable in the lab setting. It also offers a more streamlined, user-friendly design, more clinical tips, and a companion CD-ROM with seven anatomical animations. Displays x-ray, MR, and CT images next to corresponding dissections, teaching readers to recognize anatomic structures in diagnostic images. Helps readers differentiate between similar structures on specimens (ie. veins, arteries, and nerves) with interpretive drawings. Offers orientational diagrams that make it easier to relate the dissections in the text to real experiences in the lab. Provides an unobstructed view of the artwork by using a numbered labeling system, which also allows readers to self-test by covering up the key and identifying each numbered structure. Includes over 50 new dissections photos, many of which are taken from a distance to make them more recognizable in the lab setting. Features a redesigned page layout that correlates illustrations, headings, and labels with more clarity. Uses more distinctly color-coded chapters to improve accessibility. Makes it easy to locate dissection sites on real life models with 50 new 'locator' images (surface anatomy models). Adds 20 new clinical tips (300 in all) that are referenced with icons on each page and then listed at the end of each chapter. Moves the Systemic Review to the front of the book, adding a series of anatomical cross-sections. Offers a PC and Mac compatible CD-ROM with seven anatomical animations (hand, shoulder, knee, foot, hip, spine, and head & neck) in QuickTime format. Allows users to add and remove layers of skin, muscle, etc. rotate animations for a complete view from all angles turn labels on and off to test recognition skills export images to their hard drive test themselves with multiple-choice questions linked to each label as well as with a separate quiz function link to www.fleshandbones.com. Icons in the book refer readers to the animations at appropriate points.
Publication Date: 2002-12-23
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by John T. HansenFocus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this book is an ideal anatomy reference for students who want to make the most of their study time or need a concise review of clinical anatomy. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology. Every clinical correlation - more than 200 in all - is illustrated. Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and identify areas where you may need further study. Portable book size makes it easy to carry on the go. More review questions, including figure- and image-based questions More Clinical Focus boxes eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes additional multiple-choice questions, 3D models, and fully searchable text and images.