Skip to main content

Materials Engineering: Finding articles

Giovanna's 15-minute rule

If you cannot find relevant articles on your topic in 15 minutes, contact me. I can teach you how to search the databases effectively, and/or perform a search on your topic and send you the results along with the search strategy.

Find articles - Search the following databases to find references to journal articles and other publications on a topic.

Core Databases in Materials Engineering:

  • Compendex – provides references to journal articles and conference papers in engineering
  • Materials Research Database with METADEX – provides references to journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases about materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications
     
  • Scopus - multidisciplinary database that provides references to journal articles and conference papers, as well as contains information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it; also contains references found in Compendex, Inspec, and Medline/PubMed
  • Web of Science - multidisciplinary database that provides references to journal articles and conference papers, as well as contains information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it
     

Need More References? Other Databases to Explore:

  • Aerospace Database useful for searching topics dealing with the aerospace industry
     
  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text useful for finding articles on a topic in magazines and trade publications; these articles are written in a more general language, for the non-specialist reader
     
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management useful for searching topics concerning the environment
     
  • Google Scholaruseful for finding one or two relevant articles on a topic
  • Inspec useful for searching topics dealing with computer science, electrical engineering, mechanical and production engineering, and/or physics
     
  • PubMed (also known as Medline) - useful for searching biomaterials engineering topics; provides references to more than 5500 international biomedical journals
  • SciFinder - provides references to the chemical literature, including substance and reaction information; useful for finding the experimental/physical properties of substances

Librarian

Giovanna Badia's picture
Giovanna Badia
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
room 207 (main floor)
514-398-7340
Website / Blog Page

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice