Search for background information or overviews of a topic in hundreds of physical science & engineering textbooks by accessing the following e-book collections:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSearch the McGill WorldCat Catalogue to find books or journals, whether in print or electronic format.
ASM Handbook Collection by
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties. This handbook is the best single-volume reference work on the properties and selection of ferrous metals and alloys. It features contributions from more than 200 technical experts.
Concise Encyclopedia of Materials Characterization by
To use materials effectively, their composition, physical and mechanical characteristics, and microstructure must be accurately determined. The second edition of Concise Encyclopedia of Materials Characterization covers the wide range of characterization techniques necessary to achieve this. With over 130 articles taken from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology, containing revisions and updates not available in the original set, this concise encyclopedia is an ideal quick reference for materials scientists, chemists and engineers.
Concise Encyclopedia of the Properties of Materials Surfaces and Interfaces by
The structure and thermodynamics of solid surfaces are considered in this single volume, The Concise Encyclopedia of the Properties of Materials Surfaces and Interfaces. This includes their reactivity and catalytic role, as well as their tribological features such as friction, lubrication, adhesion and wear. The importance of surface coatings and surface films upon material properties is also reviewed, and a range of articles on the production and characterisation of thin films is included. Approximately one hundred articles have been selected which discuss the above features in a range of material families, e.g.. metallic, ceramic and polymeric. Reviews of the surface properties of wood and paper are also included.
Corrosion Resistance Tables by
Updated and enlarged to reflect the latest information available, this edition presents corrosion resistance data on all important materials currently used to fabricate systems, commodities and structures that come into contact with chemicals. The price quoted is for the 3-volume set.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition by
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook provides a convenient, single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials. As with the first three editions, this Fourth Edition contains information verified by major professional associations such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics by
An extensively expanded and revised edition of the leading major reference work in computational engineering The completely updated and extended second edition of Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics, Second Edition has, once again, been prepared under the guidance of three of the world's foremost experts in the field. It follows the same structure as the first edition, yet has been expanded from three to six full volumes to give readers a more in-depth and complete understanding of the topic. Volumes 1 & 2 (Fundamentals) contain contributions related to mathematics, mechanics, and computer science, and are structured as discretization methods, treating approximations with finite differences, discrete variational forms, boundary integral equations and further problem-oriented techniques, mesh-based and meshfree discretizations and the generation and visualization of geometry; Isogeometric analysis as well as various direct and iterative solvers; time-dependent parabolic problems and FEMs for the Maxwell equation; further, new chapters on uncertainty quantification and related stochastic solution methods are included. Volumes 3 & 4 (Solids and Structures) are organized into five different parts, namely, structural behavi∨ constitutive theories and their implementation; materials and processing; interaction problems; and identification, stochastics, and optimization. Volumes 5 & 6 (Fluids) build on the fundamentals of the first volumes, and offer four main groups that describe additional basic methodologies used in computational fluid dynamics; cover the various aspects of incompressible viscous flows; focus on compressible fluid dynamics; and address problems involving moving domains and free surfaces, and application areas. The single most comprehensive reference on computational mechanics 18 new chapters added representing a more than 20% increase over current edition Extensive revision plan with major updates to the majority of existing articles Covers solid and fluid mechanics, with extensive treatment of FEA and CFD techniques With contributions from leading experts around the globe, this is an essential and comprehensive reference for any university engineering department or corporation, and contains invaluable, up-to-date content for researchers, students, and practitioners alike.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology by
The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena Structural Phenomena Fundamental Core Theory Structural Materials Polymers and Materials Chemistry Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials Online by
Smart materials--materials and structures that can impartinformation about their environment to an observer or monitoringdevice--are revolutionizing fields as diverse as engineering,optics, and medical technology. Advances in smart materials areimpacting disciplines across the scientific and technologicallandscape. Now, practictioners and researchers have an authoritative source togo to for answers about this emerging new area. Encyclopedia ofSmart Materials provides A-to-Z coverage of the entire field ofintelligent materials. Discussions of theory, fabrication,processing, applications, and uses of these unique materials arepresented here in a collection of concise entries from the world'sforemost experts in the field--including scientists, educators andengineers. This encyclopedia is as broad in scope as the technology itself,addressing daily, commercial applications as well as sophisticatedunits designed to operate in space, underwater, underground, andwithin the human body. Extensively cross-referenced and generouslysupplemented with bibliographies and indexes, this book's treatmentalso broaches the specialized properties and coatings that arerequired for the use of materials in extreme conditions. Illustrated with photographs, tables, line drawings, and equations,Encyclopedia of Smart Materials is the premier reference formaterial scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, processengineers, consultants, patent attorneys and students in theseareas. An essential resource on the shelves of laboratories,government facilities, and academic libraries. Editor-in-Chief, Mel Schwartz has over forty years of experiencewith metals, ceramics, and composites, with special expertise inbrazing. The holder of five patents, he has authored thirteen booksand more than one hundred technical papers and articles. Reach the information you need rapidly and easily with the ONLINEedition of the Encyclopedia of Smart Materials. The online editiondelivers all the rich content of the print edition with the addedbenefits of an advanced search engine and the desktop convenienceof web access. For more information or to license the onlineedition (beginning July 2002) please visit:www.interscience.wiley.com/reference/esm
Graphical-Informational Atlas of Materials Science by
The CRC Practical Handbook of Materials Selection uses an easy-to-follow organization based on materials properties and includes many data sets to compare materials by property value. This volume serves as a companion volume to the CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Second Edition. The book provides an introduction to the key professional societies, educational institutions, and employment opportunities in the field of materials science and engineering.
Handbook of Materials Selection by
An innovative resource for materials properties, their evaluation, and industrial applications The Handbook of Materials Selection provides information and insight that can be employed in any discipline or industry to exploit the full range of materials in use today-metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. This comprehensive organization of the materials selection process includes analytical approaches to materials selection and extensive information about materials available in the marketplace, sources of properties data, procurement and data management, properties testing procedures and equipment, analysis of failure modes, manufacturing processes and assembly techniques, and applications. Throughout the handbook, an international roster of contributors with a broad range of experience conveys practical knowledge about materials and illustrates in detail how they are used in a wide variety of industries. With more than 100 photographs of equipment and applications, as well as hundreds of graphs, charts, and tables, the Handbook of Materials Selection is a valuable reference for practicing engineers and designers, procurement and data managers, as well as teachers and students.
Scientific Encyclopedia by
Extensively updated and revised, this outstanding reference remains the definitive scientific resource for both academic and professional environments Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia has long enjoyed a reputation as one of the most important comprehensive general scientific references available. Substantially revised to cover the many developments since the Eight Edition in 1994, this Ninth Edition ranges across all scientific disciplines as well as many areas of engineering and technology. Topics covered include animal science, anatomy, astronomy, atmospheric science, chemistry, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, earth science, energy sources, information science, life science, materials, mathematics, mechanical engineering, medicine, mining, physics, physiology, planetary science, plant science, power technology, space science, structural engineering, and a host of other subjects. Existing material has been extensively revised for this new edition, and numerous new articles bring the Encyclopedia up-to-date on the latest developments and state-of-the-art knowledge in every discipline. An expanded subject index makes information easier to find. An extensive revision program makes this series an important addition to personal as well as institutional libraries in both academic and industrial settings.
Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook by
This book serves as a reference for engineers, scientists, and students concerned with the use of materials in applications where reliability and resistance to corrosion are important. It updates the coverage of its predecessor, including coverage of: corrosion rates of steel in major river systems and atmospheric corrosion rates, the corrosion behavior of materials such as weathering steels and newer stainless alloys, and the corrosion behavior and engineering approaches to corrosion control for nonmetallic materials. New chapters include: high-temperature oxidation of metals and alloys, nanomaterials, and dental materials, anodic protection. Also featured are chapters dealing with standards for corrosion testing, microbiological corrosion, and electrochemical noise.
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice