Skip to main content

Health Sciences Information Starter Guide

Useful things to know before you meet your librarian

Databases selection

Databases are great tools to find scholarly research for your work. When starting your research, it's important to select the most appropriate database(s) for your subject and to be aware of the particularities and functionalities of individual databases. Your librarian can help you with this.

This table shows you the differences between some key databases for your research in fields related to health sciences

Database

Subject coverage

Publication types included

Dates covered

MEDLINE/

PubMed

Largest biomedical database essential for health care research; MEDLINE can be searched on the Ovid platform or via PubMed, the public platorm

Journal articles, editorials, and more

1946 to present

CINAHL

Extensive coverage of nursing/allied health

Journal articles, editorials, trade magazines, and more

1937 to present

EMBASE

European coverage in biomedicine/pharmacology

Journal articles, editorials, conferences, and more

1947 to present

PsycINFO

Excellent resource for research on psychological, social, behavioural and mental health questions

Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and theses

1806 to present

Scopus

All subjects (multidisciplinary)

Journal articles, books, chapters, conference papers, and more

1823 to present

Web of Science Core Collection

All subjects (multidisciplinary)

Journal articles, conference proceedings, and more

1900 to present

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice