Skip to main content

Agricultural Economics

Resources for Agricultural Economics students and researchers.

Multidisciplinary Databases

A multidisciplinary or general database is one which covers a wide range of topics across multiple academic disciplines. You may want to use a multidisciplinary database if your topic is cross-disciplinary, or if you are not yet sure of the subject area into which your topic falls.


Suggested Databases

Web of Science: Large multidisciplinary database offering citation linking and citation counts.

Scopus: Large multidisciplinary science and social sciences database that is capable of backward and forward citation linking and includes citation counts.

Subject-Specific Databases

A subject-specific database focuses on a single discipline (e.g., Agriculture) or a group of related disciplines (e.g., Economics, Finance, & Business) and usually provide comprehensive coverage of that specific field. Using a subject-specific database is ideal if you know a particular subject area is appropriate for your search topic.


Suggested Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. Coverage from 1971-present.

AGRICOLA: Publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage from 1970-present.

CAB Abstracts: Agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition. Offers extensive coverage of journal and nonjournal literature from around the world including annual reports, general reports, books, conference proceedings, and field notes. Coverage from 1973-present.

EconLit: Provides citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics, plus full text for more than 560 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.

World Bank eLibrary: Provides access to a growing collection of more than 5,000 ebooks, journal articles, and working papers from the world's most authoritative source on international development as they are published.

Librarian

Dana Ingalls's picture
Dana Ingalls
Contact:
Macdonald Campus Library
Barton Building
21111 Lakeshore Rd.
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC
H9X 3V9
(514) 398-7576

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice