Microdata are the "raw" data, composed of individual records containing information collected on the research subjects being studied. The unit of observation is usually the individual, but can be the household, family, etc. For example, a microdata file will contain the responses of each person to different questions in a survey.
Microdata stand in contrast to more familiar "summary" or "aggregate" data. Aggregate data are compiled statistics, such as a table of marital status by sex that summarizes the responses obtained from a survey.
Microdata are inherently flexible. One need not depend on published statistics from a survey that compiled the data in a certain way. Users can generate their own statistics from the data in any manner desired, including individual-level multivariate analyses.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: Food, agriculture, environment, and trade data and reports from the United Nations.
Statista: Comprehensive statistics, market research and business portal, providing data from over 22,500 sources.
World Bank DataBank: Provides access to a large library of international statistics, data, and reports, as well as journal articles, international development reports, and other publications.
A digital repository for social science data that contains over 5,700 datasets, including data from Statistics Canada surveys and public opinion polls.
Statistics Canada: Homepage for all statistics from the Government of Canada
Statistics Canada-Agriculture: Comprehensive data, reports and statistics relating to Canadian agriculture, food production, land use and the environment.
Trade reports, market intelligence and data: Government of Canada resource covering international trade and foreign investment information, as well as market intelligence.
Alberta
Alberta Agriculture and Forestry: Provides data, statistics, and reports on food and agriculture production and trade in Alberta.
British Columbia
Agriculture-Province of British Columbia: Data on land use, food and crop production, fisheries, and environmental policy and programs in BC.
Statistics-Province of British Columbia: Comprehensive data and statistics on the BC economy, population, environment and employment.
Manitoba
Manitoba Agriculture: Data and statistics on Manitoba agriculture and food production, environment, and trade.
Manitoba Bureau of Statistics: Provides general economic and demographic data for the province of Manitoba.
New Brunswick
New Brunswick Agriculture, Aquaculture, and Fisheries: Provides data and statistics on all aspects of New Brunswick's agricultural sector.
Newfoundland and Labrador
Forestry and Agrifoods Agency: Information on all aspects of Newfoundland and Labrador's agricultural and foods industries, including data, statistics, and market reports.
Statistical Information for Newfoundland and Labrador: General data, including demographic, economic, and environmental data and statistics.
Nova Scotia
Department of Agriculture: Information on all aspects of Nova Scotia agriculture, including statistics, reports, and detailed data at county level.
Ontario
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs: Provides statistics and data on agricultural and food production in Ontario, provincial economic data, international trade, and demographic and land use data at a county level.
Ontario Ministry of Finance: Comprehensive data, statistics, and reports on the economy of Ontario.
Prince Edward Island
Department of Agriculture and Land: Information, including data, statistics and reports, on all aspects of the agricultural and fisheries industries in PEI.
Quebec
Institut de la statistique Québec: Provides statistics, statistical analyses, and reports on the province of Quebec, including agricultural production, economic, trade, and environmental data, sustainable development approaches and indicators, and demographic data. Note: Some resources are available only in French.
Agriculture, environnement et ressources naturelles: Information about agriculture and natural resources in Quebec. Note: Some resources are available only in French.
Quebec Data Partnership / Partenariat Données Québec: Resource maintained by the provincial government. Includes datasets, interactive maps and relevant organizations. Only in French.
Base de données des cultures assurées (BDCA) - Assured Crop Database of Quebec: McGill Numeric Data libguide page with more information on BDCA and other associated links.
La base de données des cultures assurées (BDCA) contains detailed mapping of crops located on insured agricultural land parcels in Quebec. Data are available from 2008 to 2011; please consult the index map for exact coverage.
The crop categories included in this database are: hay, corn, wheat, barley, oats, soya, canola, other cereals, market vegetables, small fruits, mixed crops, and "no crops declared".
Saskatchewan
Government of Saskatchewan-Market and Trade Statistics: Agricultural production and trade statistics for Saskatchewan.
Government of Saskatchewan-Statistics and Government Data: General demographic and geographic data.
Europe
EU Open Data Portal: Maintained by Publications Office of the European Union this online open data portal contains EU law resources, EU datasets, and research results among other economic information.
Eurostat: The statistical office of the European Union, providing comprehensive statistics, data and reports for all member nations.
Agriculture and Rural Development: Information on all aspects of agriculture from the European Commission, including policy, marketing data and trade analysis.
United Kingdom
Agriculture in the United Kingdom: Annual statistics about agriculture in the United Kingdom.
Office for National Statistics: The statistical office of the United Kingdom.
United States
National Agricultural Statistics Service: Information from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) on all aspects of US agriculture and agricultural industry, including data at a state and county level.
US Data and Statistics: Comprehensive data and statistics on US economics, demographics, and the environment.
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
