Skip to main content
Sources for Background Information
Encyclopaedias, Dictionaries, Glossaries
- Art and Architecture Thesaurus - Getty Research Institute
- Oxford Art Online
- Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
NA31 H32 1993 (Ref)
- A dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture
Read online or find a copy in the library
- Encyclopedia of Architecture Design, Engineering & Construction
NA31 E59 1988 (Ref) v. 1-5
- The Elements of Style: An Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail
NA2850 E445 2005 (Ref)
- The Encyclopedia of North American Architecture
folio NA703 A53 2006 (Ref)
- Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
NA208 E53 1997 (Ref) v. 1-3
- Glossary of Architectural Terms
- A Glossary of House-Building Terms = Glossaire des termes de construction
TH9 C4 1976 (Ref)
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
NA40 I45 1991 (Ref)
- The Metapolis Dictionary of Advanced Architecture: City, Technology & Society in the Information Age
NA680 M48 2003 (Ref)
- World Atlas of Architecture
folio NA200 W67 1984 Blackader-Lauterman
Selected Internet Sites
- Abacus Construction Index is a portal encompassing popular construction information websites in the UK. A basic search interface is provided, as are topic headings for guided browsing.
- archINFORM One of the largest databases for international architecture, includes information over more than 18000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.
- ArchNet: Islamic Architecture Community
- Canada Green Building Council is a coalition representing various segments of the design and building industry which aims to promote the mainstream adoption of green building principles, policies, practices, standards and tools. The website also has information about Green Building Rating & Labelling Systems used in Canada.
- Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) contains information on household maintenance and materials used for construction. A Library page includes links organized by subject. For CMHC publications, search the Catalogue, using 'Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation' in the author field.
- Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA), founded in 1979, is a Montreal-based research centre and museum. Consult the Institutional Overview and the Overview of the Collections for more.
- CSA, the Center for the Study of Architecture and Archaeology
- ICOMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites)
- The Getty Research Institute A resource for students of Art and Architecture. Research tools such as the Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), Research Guides and Bibliographies, and the Photo Study Collection may be accessed from this site.
- Great Buildings Collection This site lists master architects from around the world and across history who are documented in the Great Buildings Online.
- International Archive of Women in Architecture Biographical Database
- National Building Museum (U.S.) This institution's website hosts virtual exhibits dedicated to exploring architecture, design, engineering, construction, and urban planning. Additional information about physical exhibitions, transcripts of lectures and issues of the museum publication Blueprints are available.
- Searching for an Architect: A database from the Ordre des Architectes du Québec
- Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)
- SPIRO "the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley"; see About SPIRO for more information.
- World Architecture, a global architecture forum, check their index of world architects searchable by name and listed by country.
- Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks
Limited to books in English and Western European languages published between 1875-1980 and accessible in US libraries (from the preface). General and comprehensive resources are found in the first two chapters; resources specific to particular architectural styles, periods, or geographical locations are listed within specific categories. Entries are annotated.
Z5941 E38 1984 (Ref)
- Bibliographic Guide to Art and Architecture
Annual union list of items catalogued in the Library of Congress and the New York Public Library, 1975 -1997. Items are organized alphabetically by author, title, and subject (i.e., the same work may be repeated)
Z5939 B53X (Ref)
- A Bibliography on Vernacular Architecture
Z5944 G7 H3  (Ref)
- Papers/American Association of Architecture Bibliographers
Thirteen volumes containing bibliographies of bibliographies on selected architects, architectural styles, and locations. Check the subject headings in the Catalogue record (click on the title to see the full record); note that volume 11 of the series serves as the index to volumes 1-10.
Z5941 A5 [1965-1979] (Ref) v. 1-13
Here are selected books that are published in series relating to architecture. To locate these series, copy the title from this list and then search under Keyword in Series in the Advanced Search screen.
- Architectural design profile
- Building Type Basics
- Classical America series in art and architecture
- Cahiers de la recherche architecturale
- Architectural documents
- Theoretical perspectives in architectural history and criticism
- Universale di architettura
- Architecture + recherches
- Prentice-Hall international series in architecture
- Architecture (Pierre Mardaga, éditeur)
- Architecture landscape urbanism
- Architectural design (Barcelona, Spain)
- The buildings of England
- Pevsner architectural guides
- Chicago architecture and urbanism
- Architext series
- Modern architecture and cultural identity
- Skira architecture library
- Zhongguo gu jian zhu da xi [dealing with Chinese architecture, gardens and temples]
- Saggi di architettura
Catalogues of Special Collections
- Avery's Choice: Five Centuries of Great Architectural Books
Z5941 A94 1997 (Ref)
- Catalogue of the Avery Memorial Architecture Library
Z5945 C652 1968 (Ref). Holdings searchable online via Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
- Catalogue of the British Architectural Library Early Imprints
Z5945 B85 1994 (Ref); see description
- Mark J. Millard Architectural Collection
Z5944 F7W54 1993 (Ref) v. 1-3