Souteast Asian Studies | databases & websites

Digitized materials offer an array of Western perspectives and sources on China and Southeast Asia spanning several centuries, from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century.

"Conflict in Indochina, 1959-1979: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos is split into two sections: Crisis and Upheaval, 1959-1964 -- Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979 (coming soon) -- Introduction

This digital resource allows students and researchers to access primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library: Module 1: Trade, governance and Empire, 1600-1947 -- Module 2: Factory records for South Asia and South-East Asia -- Module 3: Factory records for China, Japan and the Middle East -- Module 4: Correspondence: Early Voyages, Formation and Conflict -- Module 5: Correspondence: Domestic Life, Governance and Territorial Expansion.

"All of the titles in this portal have been carefully screened against other eighteenth century academic resources to ensure that there is minimal overlap. Resources checked include: Primary Source Media’s microfilm collection Early English Newspapers; Chadwyck-Healey’s Early English Books Online (EEBO); Gale’s 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection; and Proquest’s British Periodicals." See Nature and Scope.

"Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of colonial empires from the explorations of Columbus and Captain Cook, the missionary movement and the exhibitions of the 19th century, to decolonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism. A broad selection of letter books, periodicals, travel writings and more have been selected from leading archives around the world, including the British Library, providing valuable insight into the key events and themes of the European colonial period"--Adam Matthew

Published in two parts, this extensive collection of Foreign Office Files explores South East Asia between 1963 and 1980 in a time of conflict, growth and change: Module I. Cold War in the Pacific, trade relations and the post-independence period, 1963-1966 -- Module II. Foundations of economic growth and industrialisation, 1967-1980. See "Introduction: Nature and Scope."

Videos of music and dance, accompanied by supplemental text: Volume 6, Southeast Asia I : Vietnam & Cambodia -- Volume 7, Southeast Asia II : Thailand & Myanmar (Burma) -- Volume 8, Southeast Asia III : Malaysia & Philippines -- Volume 9, Southeast Asia IV : Indonesia 1 -- Volume 10, Southeast Asia V : Indonesia 2

"Founded in 1970, SEAM received significant grant funding in the its early years to pursue the microfilming of scarce or endangered materials in Indonesia, Vietnam, and other Southeast Asian countries. SEAM holdings include more than 300 historic newspapers from every country in the region, in national, minority, and English or other colonial languages, similar numbers of historic journals and government serials and thousands of historic manuscripts. Guides to Collections.

"The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries."--Center for Research Libraries.

Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents:
- Ambassador Graham Martin and the Saigon Embassy's Back Channel Communication Files, 1963-1975
- Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
- Evangelism in Philippines: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1898-1910
- Evangelism in Thailand: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1840-1910
- Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949
- Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
- Laos: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966
- South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attache, 1973-1975
- Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963
- Evangelism in Philippines: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1898-1910
- Thailand: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, 1945-1954
- The International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific/Southeast Asia Women’s Association, 1950-1985
- The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
- The U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954
- U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964
- U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs

"With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements."-- About This Archive

Provides free and open access to a variety of materials created in and about Southeast Asia, including digital versions of books, manuscripts, periodicals, and more, as well as multimedia items such as videos and oral histories. All items are robustly described to enrich their usage. In addition to primary source materials, SEADL also offers indexes of online secondary sources related to the region.

The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) that covers all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present of principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. *Click "Choose databases" (above the search box) to cross-search among all the EBSCO databases that the McGill Library subscribes to, including: Academic Search Complete -- Humanities International Index -- MLA International Bibliography -- SocINDEX with Full Text

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline (Asian Studies), or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.

The guide features the strengths in CRL's holdings, including the archival documents from Indonesia, and Vietnam, as well as the records of Dutch East Indies from the National Archives of the Netherlands. *McGill faculty and students can access the CRL digital and analog collection through the McGill Library.

Provides free online resources and guides by country.

At the bottom of the page are links to LC's collections of print and electronic resources pertaining to Southeast Asia. Check out "Free Databases and E-Resources" on the Southeast Asian Subscription Databases and Free Electronic Resources guide.

"As a virtual research center and a community space, ARUNA is dedicated to supporting non-traditional and experimental scholarship and to highlighting the voices of junior and emerging scholars and thinkers with systematically marginalized backgrounds working on, in, and from Asian Global South." -- ARUNA's Mission
- Initiatives: How-to-Series -- Webinars -- Community Engagement
- Blog

This cross-institutional network, funded by the Henry Luce Foundation, leads initiatives to enhance graduate education in Southeast Asian studies across North America. These initiatives include a virtual speaker series, specialized online mini-courses, a mentoring network, professional development workshops for graduate students, and the creation of a framework for future shared language instruction.