Guides: Social Work: Find Articles

New to online research? Check out these helpful videos!

Searching article databases - Part 3: Advanced Search Techniques (3 minutes)

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts of current research articles and book reviews from over 1600 journals on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes dissertation abstracts.
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
Over 500 indexed and abstracted coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
PsycINFO 1987-present (Ovid)
Key database for psychology. Includes citations to professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.

Here are some resources, aimed at helping you search PyscINFO - a powerful database with a bit of a learning curve!

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Full text database in the areas of nursing and allied health journals. Contains approximately 770 journals from the CINAHL index with coverage back to 1937.

Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
A major multidisciplinary database for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, as well as the Sciences. Includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.

Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others, including excellent coverage of journals in the field of social work.
Scopus (Elsevier)
A major multidisciplinary database that includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary Canadian content. Great for Canada-specific information.

MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
SocINDEX with full text (EBSCO)
Key Sociology database - always a great place to check.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
For topics related to gender or sexuality.
Cochrane Library
Contains systematic reviews of health-related topics.
PAIS Index (ProQuest)
Does your topic have a political or policy dimension? Check here!
ERIC (EBSCO)
Is your topic related to education? Have a look at ERIC!
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
An international and interdisciplinary index to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
JSTOR
Retrospective coverage of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library RM-27A

514-398-5727

Subjects: Anthropology, Social work, Sociology