Guides: RELG 319: Religion Fantasy Fiction: Home

Getting Started

Religious Studies
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 2366 views this year
English Literature Research Guide
by Lonnie Weatherby Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 703 views this year

Search tips:

Search for a known title by searching in the title field (ti:) and using "exact phrase searching", e.g.:
- ti:"Left Hand of Darkness"
Search for a known author by searching in the author field (au:) and inverting last and first names, e.g.:
- au:Le Guin, Ursula
Literature is catalogued with call numbers beginning PS. Consider browsing the New Items (McLennan main floor) and recently returned items (McLennan 3rd floor) to see some items.
Browse the Libraries' collection of fiction ebooks and audiobooks on OverDrive or using the Libby app.
- Use filtering options such as "All fiction ebooks".

Search tips:

Search for academic books by combining keywords with the terms fantasy, fiction, or literature, e.g.:
- gender identity AND (fantasy OR fiction OR literature)
Locate subject headings after identifying a useful book or item.
Scroll to the bottom of a record and use the browse the shelf feature.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues. Contains over 2.9 million index records covering the research literature of religion in many languages. Bibliographic records represent scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations and languages. Updated monthly,
Literature Online (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Former title: LION fulltext
This database offers the full text of more than 350,000 original literary works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day. Articles from over 430 scholarly journals are also included. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies. This database also includes reference works, including encyclopedias, companions, dictionaries, biographies, study guides, and topic overviews.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Fantasy Author's Handbook (website)
Genre-specific writing blog from NYT best-selling author Philip Athans.

Craft in the Real World by Matthew Salesses
A groundbreaking resource for fiction writers, teachers, and students, this manifesto and practical guide challenges current models of craft and the writing workshop by showing how they fail marginalized writers, and how cultural expectations inform storytelling.
The Art of Creative Research by Philip Gerard
All writers conduct research. The Art of Creative Research helps writers take this natural inclination to explore and observe and turn it into a workable--and enjoyable--research plan
The Language of Fiction by Brian Shawver
"This is not your grandfather's style guide."
The Elements of Style (Classic Edition, 2017) by William Strunk Jr.
Over the years, generations of college students and writers have learned the basics of grammar from this little book. Enhancements from the editor of this edition include notes throughout the book to alert readers to grammar rules which are now regarded as obsolete.
(Or, this is your grandfather's style guide.)
Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus
Much more than a word list, the Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus is a browsable source of inspiration as well as an authoritative guide to selecting and using vocabulary.

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies