Need help choosing which database to search? This table shows you the differences between the three core databases in psychiatry and mental health.
| Database | Subject coverage | Publication types included | Dates covered |
| MEDLINE/PubMed | Largest biomedical database essential for health care research | Journal articles, editorials | 1946 to present |
| EMBASE | European coverage in biomedicine, pharmacology | Journal articles, editorials, conferences | 1947 to present |
| PsycInfo | Excellent resource for research on psychological, social, behavioural and mental health questions | Journal articles, books, book chapters | 1806 to present |
Contains 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and to the McGill Find Full Text linkresolver.
Index database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
You might find these additional databases useful for your research.
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice