Guides: Physical and Occupational Therapy: Finding articles

Core databases

Need help choosing which database to search? This table shows you the differences between the four core databases in rehabilitation sciences. It is recommended that you start with Medline/PubMed and CINAHL before moving on to more specialized databases.

Need help searching the databases? Start with this introduction to searching with subject headings and keywords.

Database	Subject coverage	Publication types included	Dates covered
MEDLINE/PubMed	Largest biomedical database essential for health care research	Journal articles, editorials	1946 to present
CINAHL	Extensive coverage of nursing and allied health, including PT and OT journals not covered by MEDLINE	Journal articles, editorials, trade magazines	1937 to present
EMBASE	European coverage in biomedicine, rehabilitation, pharmacology	Journal articles, editorials, conferences	1947 to present
PsycInfo	Excellent resource for research on psychological, social, behavioural and mental health questions	Journal articles, books, book chapters	1806 to present

MEDLINE(R) (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Containing over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages
PubMed (McGill)
Contains 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and to the McGill Find Full Text linkresolver.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Embase current 1996- (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO 1987-present (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Index database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO

Additional databases

You might find these additional databases useful for your research.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, tests, vignettes/scenarios) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior and library and information science.
Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, other reviews, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (CENTRAL) methods studies, health technology assessments, and economic evaluations
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Allows for citation searching.
SPORTdiscus (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers sports and sports medicine journals, as well as books, book chapters, conference proceedings and magazine articles
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Covers dissertations and theses from across North America

Other online resources

Below are specialized resources that you may find useful. They are all freely accessible, so you will have access to them after you graduate. They will only provide abstract information; in order to find the full text of an article, you will have to use the library catalogue

REHABDATA
Covers over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. CIRRIE is now a part of this collection.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Covers randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Some trials are critically appraised for quality.
OTSeeker
Covers abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Some trials are critically appraised for quality.
Stroke Engine--Assessments (disponible en français)
Evidence-based stroke assessment information. Searchable by assessment name or by assessment topic.
Stroke Engine--Interventions (disponible en français)
Effectiveness reviews for stroke rehabilitation interventions. Searchable by intervention name or intervention topic.
AbleData (discontinued)
Objective information on assistive technology products; see link for information about it being discontinued in September 2020.
Health Technology Assessment Database
Covers Canadian and International Health Technology Assessments

Tests and measures

Please visit our guide on finding tests and measures for more information.

Librarian

Jill Boruff

She/her/elle

Email me

Contact:

Please email me with questions or to request an appointment.

Subjects: Communication sciences and disorders, Medicine, Physical and occupational therapy

Physical and Occupational Therapy

Core databases

Additional databases

Other online resources

Tests and measures

Librarian

Need help? Ask us!