Guides: POLI 227: Developing Areas/Introduction: Resources

Handbooks & Dictionaries

Use the following handbooks to find basic background information (history, political system, etc.) of the countries of your interest. Use at least 2 sources for comparison.

Handbook of research on the global political economy of work
- This link opens in a new window
Political Handbook of the World 2022-2023
- This link opens in a new window
"Offers analysis and commentary on major national and international events and summarizes national and regional balloting through 2022."--Summary
Third World Handbook (Second Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Contents: Introduction; 1 End of Empires; 2 The United Nations; 3 The Third World and Non-Alignment; 4 Third World Regional Groupings; 1 Africa; 2 The Middle East; 3 Eastern Asia; 4 Latin America and the Caribbean; 5 The Commonwealth; 6 The EC and the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group (ACP); 5 Aid and Its Agencies; 6 OPEC and Oil Power; 7 A New International Economic Order; 8 The Population Factor; 9 Resources and Exploitation; 10 Biographical Notes; 11 Country Gazetteer; Index.

Africa

The handbook of civil society in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
The Palgrave handbook of African politics, governance and development
- This link opens in a new window
The Palgrave handbook of democracy, governance and justice in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
The Palgrave handbook of religion, peacebuilding, and development in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge handbook of democratization in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge handbook of public policy in Africa
- This link opens in a new window

Southeast Asia

Dictionary of the modern politics of Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Political participation in Asia : defining & deploying political space
- This link opens in a new window
Presidentialism and democracy in East and Southeast Asia
Routledge handbook of civil and uncivil society in Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
The Routledge handbook of nationalism in East and Southeast Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge handbook of Southeast Asian democratization
- This link opens in a new window

Bibliographies

The articles and the annotated bibliographies in Oxford Bibliographies were written by world-renowned scholars in Political Science, and peer-reviewed. Examine 1 or 2 articles to get a general overview on the topic of your interest, and also find recommended sources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Here is a selection of articles that are relevant to the course assignment.
Africa
- Political Science» Comparative Politics of Africa
- Political Science» Ethnic, Linguistic, Religious, and Regional Minority Participation and Representation in Africa
- Political Science» Informal Practices of Accountability in Urban Africa
- Political Science» Political Science and the Study of Africa
- Political Science» Public Opinion in Africa
See also:
- African Studies» British Colonial Rule in Sub-Saharan Africa
- African Studies» Early States and State Formation in Africa
- African Studies» Economic History
- African Studies» Geography and the Study of Africa>>Memoirs
- Military History» Gunpowder and Colonial Campaigns in Africa
- African Studies» Law and the Study of Sub-Saharan Africa
- African Studies» Police and Policing
- African Studies» Religion and Politics in Contemporary Africa
- African Studies» Southern Africa to c. 1850
Myanmar (Burma)
- Political Science» Civil-Military Relations in Asia
- Political Science» Constitutional Politics in Asia
- Political Science» Political Party Systems in East and Southeast Asia
- Political Science» Politics of Indonesia
- Political Science» Southeast Asian Politics
- Political Science» South Asian Political Thought
- Political Science» Women and Politics in East and Southeast Asia
See also:
- Military History» Colonial Southeast Asian Military History
- Military History» Precolonial Southeast Asian Military History

Academic Books & Journals

[ProQuest] EconLit
"EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application."--About EconLit
JSTOR
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Browse by subject. (See "Social Sciences" at the bottom.)
[ProQuest] Politics Collection
"The collection provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals."
Political Science Database -- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- PAIS Index -- Policy File Index.
[EBSCO] Social Sciences Full text
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

Newspapers

To search for articles (text only) among multiple news sources:

[ProQuest] U.S. Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to aggregated content of U.S. news sources, including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune -- The Wall Street Journal.
[ProQuest] Global Breaking Newswires
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to newswire content available from around the globe. View title list.
[ProQuest] International Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information from world newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. In Advanced Search, select sources, for example Al Jazeera English -- New York Times -- The Guardian -- Hindustan Times -- South China Morning Post -- The Times of India.

To access the original newspapers:

PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. Includes some of the major newspapers, published in Canada, U.S. and the UK, as well as English-language newspapers and magazines, published in Zimbabwe, Zambia, Myanmar, and Indonesia.
ProQuest historical newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable cover-to-cover access to historical newspaper content. Titles are six categories (U.S. -- Canada -- International -- Black -- Jewish -- Specialty), and include U.S.:Los Angeles Times -- The New York Times -- USA Today -- The Wall Street Journal -- The Washington Post; Canadian: The Globe and Mail -- Toronto Star -- Vancouver Sun -- International: The Guardian -- Hindustan Times -- The Jerusalem Post -- Le Monde -- South China Morning Post; Black: The Baltimore Afro-American -- Chicago Defender -- Los Angeles Sentinel -- Pittsburgh Courier; Jewish: The American Israelite; Specialty: Civil War Era Newspapers -- Communist Newspapers -- Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals.

East Asian Studies & Political Science Liaison Librarian

Hye-jin Juhn

Email me

Contact:

McLennan Library Building
3459 McTavish Street
Montreal, Quebec H3A 0C9

514-396-2065

Subjects: East Asian studies, Political science