Skip to Main Content

Online scores and indexes

Index to the McGill Sheet Music Collection

  • McGill Sheet Music Collection
    • The McGill Sheet Music Collection consists of approximately 6,000 musical scores and includes popular and classical pieces from the 19th and 20th centuries.
    • The collection features the French and English popular song collection of Quebec singer Roger Doucet.

Classical music score indexes

Jazz and popular music indexes

  • Fake Book Index
    • Allows users to locate tunes rapidly from a wide selection of fake books published by Hal Leonard, Chuck Sher, Frank Mantooth, Warner Bros, and Wise Publications
    • Search by title or title words

Worldwide library holdings of manuscripts and early printed editions

  • RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales 
    Series A/II, Music Manuscripts after 1600; Series A/I, Individual Prints before 1800; and a portion of B/I, Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles (Printed collections of the 16th-17th centuries), covering the years 1500-1550.
    Use the Advanced search screen to search by publisher, plate number, A/I or B/I number, and musical incipit (using an on-screen keyboard). 
  • Gale Primary Sources - Media Guide
    • The Music Library owns selections from the Music Manuscripts Collection, Series 1-5, and the entire Women Composers Collection
    • Use the Gale Primary Sources Media Guide to locate the index to each microfilm reel
    • The Women Composers Collection has been digitized and can be accessed at HathiTrust

Microfilm collections held at the Marvin Duchow Music Library

The Music Library holds many Renaissance music manuscripts and prints on microfilm. Consult these guides to discover the manuscripts and prints held at the Library:

Location and contacts

Profile Photo
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Marvin Duchow Music Library
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4695
Website
Subjects: Music

Librarian

Profile Photo
Cathy Martin
Contact:
527 Sherbrooke St. W, A-317, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3
514-398-5874
Website

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice