Skip to main content

Music dictionaries and encyclopedias

COVID-19 CLOSURE

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hoursFor more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Welcome! Use this guide to find background information from dictionaries and encyclopedias for your research projects and assignments.

On this page, you will find links to some of the major dictionaries and encyclopedias used in music research and performance.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can also be found through the Library's catalogue/search tool, Sofia, by using relevant keywords.

Music dictionaries and encyclopedias

Core music dictionaries and encyclopedias


Other general and specialty music dictionaries and encyclopedias

  • The Canadian Encyclopedia
    • Bilingual digital encyclopedia of history, culture, and people in Canada
    • Includes former Encyclopedia of Music in Canada entries
    • Almost 20,000 articles written by expert contributors
    • Interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events, and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories
    • Offers a new learning centre for teachers and parents that contains classroom resources, quizzes, and themed study guides
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
  • Dictionary of Opera Characters, 2nd ed.
    • Contains more than 2,500 entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances, and gives synopses for 200+ operas and operettas
    • Includes feature articles written by well-known opera singers, conductors, stage directors, and scholars
    • Recommended opera-related web links are listed for relevant and up-to-date extra information
  • Encyclopedia of African American Music
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music
    • Extensive coverage of topic, from the mambo and unique music instruments to the biographies of famous Latino musicians
    • Contains about 200 entries, organized alphabetically
    • Includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers
  • Grove Dictionary of American Music
    • Comprehensive resource about American music, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups
    • Articles range from short definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra
    • Supplemented by over 400 images and 140 musical examples and other materials
  • Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
    • Quick reference tool
    • Short biographies about thousands of people in music from dawn of music history to the present day
  • Harvard Dictionary of Music
    • Temporarily available through HathiTrust Emergency Access service
  • Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music
    • More than 800 cross-referenced entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition, technical terms, instruments, fundamental documents and sources, significant places, and important musical compositions
    • Contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography
    • Temporarily available through HathiTrust Emergency Access Service
  • Lexikon : Musik und Gender
  • OnMusic Dictionary
    • Dictionary of music terminology, instruments, and symbols
    • Composer dictionary includes short biographies and a list of main works
    • Series of appendices provide lengthier entries on performance practice and fundamentals of music
  • Oxford Companion to Music (via Oxford Reference)
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music (6th ed., via Oxford Reference)
  • Oxford Music Online
    • Comprehensive music resource that includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd edition revised).
  • Popular Music: the Key Concepts
    • An essential reference text for those studying the social and cultural dimensions of popular music
    • Provides a comprehensive survey of key ideas and concepts in popular music culture
    • Fourth edition includes new and expanded entries on genres and subgenres, and explores the digital music revolution and changes in the way that music is manufactured, marketed and delivered
  • The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture
    • Presents key concepts in the study of music in its cultural context and provides an introduction to the discipline of ethnomusicology, its methods, concerns, and its contributions to knowledge and understanding of the world’s musical cultures, styles, and practices
    • Approximately 730 articles, authored by prominent scholars, are arranged A-to-Z
    • Encyclopedia also includes an annotated Resource Guide to further research (journals, books, and associations), an appendix listing notable archives, libraries, and museums, and a detailed Index 

Location and contacts

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website
Subjects:Music

Librarian

Cathy Martin's picture
Cathy Martin
Contact:
527 Sherbrooke St. W, A-317, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3
514-398-5874
Website

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice