Korean Studies

The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) that covers all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present of principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. *Click "Choose databases" (above the search box) to cross-search among all the EBSCO databases that the McGill Library subscribes to, including: Academic Search Complete -- Humanities International Index -- MLA International Bibliography.

Articles include brief overviews on given topics and links to other relevant articles for further research. For example, Buddhism in Korea, Buddhist Art and Architecture in Korea, Politics of North Korea; Politics of South Korea, Korean Cinema; Korean War

Cross-searchable access to dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes selected titles from the series of Oxford companions. Examples of Korea-related articles: Buddhism in Korea, Japan and Korea, Korean War

Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. Examples of Korea-related articles: South Korea—Economic System; North Korea; South Korea—Political System; The Korean Peninsula: A Fifty-Year Struggle for Peace and Reconciliation; Korean War

This searchable database in multiple languages (Korean, English, Chinese, and Spanish) is the National Folk Museum of Korea's ongoing project to provide online access to a collection of eight encyclopedia that it has published in print.

Provides information about Korean films, including crew & cast, synopses, editions, video publications, and the holdings of Korean Film Archive. (English)

A website that includes a movie & drama database, news feeds, and a blog. Linked to commercial sites where videos (DVD/Blu-ray) can be purchased. Member can customize their own pages and share information.

This collection, edited by Aaron Han Joon Magnan-Park, Gina Marchetti, See Kam Tan, offers new approaches to theorizing Asian film in relation to the history, culture, geopolitics and economics of the continent.

Citations of books, journal articles, book chapters, and theses about theatre, dance, puppetry, cinema, plays, masks, martial arts of India, China, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, South and Central Asia, West Asia, Oceania, and Southeast Asia.

"This bibliography covers many features of Korean history. The subjects include not only political, diplomatic, and economic history, but also historical linguistics, art history, literature, philosophy and religion, and overseas Koreans, for example. Chronologically, coverage concludes in the 1960s..."

Compiled and edited by Frank J. Shulman, for the Center for Japanese Studies, the University of Michigan.

Introduces more than 2,600 books, articles, and documents written in English. Topics include origins of the war; the political and military roles of North and South Korea, the United States, the Soviet Union, China, Great Britain, Canada, Australia, South Africa, Turkey, and other United Nations members; campaigns and battles; weapons and uniforms; and the military and diplomatic aspects of the war.

"...Chapters are divided into five thematic areas: phonetics and phonology, morphology and syntax, semantics and pragmatics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, and language pedagogy. The Handbook includes cross-linguistic data to illuminate the features of Korean, and examples in Korean script, making it suitable for advanced students and researchers with or without prior knowledge of Korean linguistics. It is an essential resource for students and researchers wishing to explore the exciting and rapidly moving field of Korean linguistics"-- Provided by publisher.

This site, by Brother Anthony of Taizé (Emeritus Professor, Department of English Language and Literature, Sogang University), provides information about traditional and contemporary Korean literature, and Korean literature in translation.

Provides access to translations of resources related to Korean literature and culture, information about Korean authors and international news related to Korean literature.

"The Routledge Handbook of Modern Korean Literature provides a comprehensive overview of the Korean literary tradition, a multifaceted nexus of practices, both homegrown and transnational..."-- Provided by publisher.

Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, religion, myth, and other classical works.

Provides original text of important historical materials.

"The Seungjeongwon, the Royal Secretariat, was composed of six royal secretaries, or Seungji (senior grade of the 3rd court rank, 承旨), and two scribes, or juseo (senior grade of the 7th court rank, 注書). Of the six royal secretaries, the chief secretary (doseungji, 都承旨) took charge of the Ministry of Personnel(吏曹), one of the vice secretaries (jwaseungji, 左承旨) of the Ministry of Taxation(戶曹), the other vice secretary (useungji, 右承旨) of the Ministry of Rites(禮曹), the assistant secretary of the jwaseungji and the ubuseungji (dongbuseungji, 同副承旨) of the Ministry of Works(工曹). The two scribes took charge of records and assigned clerks (gajuseo, 假注書) to take their place when they were unavailable hemselves. War affairs were recorded by emergency clerks(sabyon gajuseo, 事變假注書)."

Collections include: African Missions -- African Missions, Education and the Road to Independence -- Church of Scotland: Missionary Archives -- Congo Mission Archives -- Korean Mission Records -- Missionary Pamphlets --Pacific Island Culture and Society -- Regions beyond Missionary Union Archive -- Scottish Missionary & Philanthropic Register, 1821-1842 -- Women Missionaries -- Women's Missionary Archives -- Scottish Missionary Archives

Covers colonialism, politics, nationalism, military actions, government systems, economics, and geography of Japan, China, and Korea from 1910 to 1950.

Collections of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions.

Full text database including over 1,400 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Humanities, Language and literature, Law/Administration, Artistic and Physical) All journals are available from the first issue of a given title.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline (Asian Studies), or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.

A database search application that enables the users to cross-search among the ProQuest databases that the McGill Library subscribes to, including: ProQuest Central -- ProQuest dissertations & theses global -- ProQuest historical newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection. *To select databases, Click the "Change Databases" tab (above the search box).

Provides recent news content from the sources, including: Korea Economic Daily -- Korea Herald -- The Korea Times

Includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. In Advanced Search, one can select sources, such as Korea Times -- Korea Herald.

Provides access to thousands of top newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. Select "Korea, Republic" in "Countries" to browse the Chinese newspapers and magazines. Included are 매일경제, The Korea Times, 東亞日報, metro 경제, 아주 경제, The Korea Herald, etc.

Digital newspaper archive of the oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, with complete contents, including images, from 1950 to 2016.