Skip to Main Content

Islamic history

Welcome - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on useful sources for the study of Islam. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

In Islamic Languages

Dāʼirat al-maʻārif-i buzurg-i Islāmī / دائرة المعارف بزرگ اسلامی is one of the most comprehensive research tools on Islam and the Muslim World. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.

NoorLib / کتابخانه دیجیتال نور is a digital collection of Persian books including almost 20,000 titles available full-text.

NoorMags / پایگاه مجلات تخصصی نور is a digital collection of Persian periodicals focused on Islamic Studies and Social Sciences.

Rijal Database / بنک اطلاعات رجال references major Iranian intellectuals and provides biographical and bibliographical data about them.

Türkiye Makaleler Bibliyografyası is a bibliographical index of scientific articles published in Turkey between 1923 and 2013.

In English

Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage is a comprehensive and contextualized Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage based on classical Arabic dictionaries and Quran commentaries. 

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is an interdisciplinary research tool covering all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is full-text searchable and has a browsable index.

Encyclopaedia Islamica is based on the abridged translation of Dāʼirat al-maʻārif-i buzurg-i Islāmī / دائرة المعارف بزرگ اسلامی, one of the most comprehensive research tools on Islam and the Muslim World. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (second edition) is a unique and invaluable reference tool setting out the present state of knowledge of the Muslim World.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (THREE) is an entirely new work reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship on the Muslim World, including Islam in the 20th century and Muslim minorities all over the world.

Encyclopaedia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool focusing on the study of the Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Encyclopaedia of the Quran is a dictionary of Quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, etc. also providing access to 62 Early Western Korans and an electronic Quran concordance.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global research tool aiming to cover any topic relating to women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.

Historical Atlas of Islam is a collaborative work first published in 1968 and updated and added to in a second edition published in 2001.

Index Islamicus is an international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam and the Muslim World.

In between an annotated bibliography and a scholarly encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies provides an exclusive and authoritative research guide.

Oxford Islamic studies online is a comprehensive research tool providing reliable background information on Islam and the Islamic World.

The Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy, science, and technology in Islam is an authoritative research tool giving access to more than 250 A-Z providing scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge.

The Qur'an: an encyclopedia is a collective work aiming at presenting the diversity of thoughts, approached and schools, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the Qur'anic text provoked throughout its history.

World Biographical Information System (WBIS) is a very comprehensive biographical database referencing over 6 million people from the 8th century to the present day. WBIS also includes 8.5 million digital facsimile articles from biographical works.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Anaïs Salamon
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website Skype Contact: anais.salamon@mcgill.ca

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice