Image Resources - Find & Understand Images

The unvarying essential meanings of around 1,000 symbols and symbolic themes commonly found in the art, literature and thought of all cultures through the ages are clarified.

Classic book on the lives of the Catholic saints and iconography associated with them.

"This is far more than a dry hagiographical account of the lives of saints. This entertaining dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. Critically acclaimed in its many editions, this fifth edition is fully updated and revised with over 100 new saints."

"Subject matter consists of representational arts in the broadest sense, architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment."

"Depicting the lives of the saints in an array of both factual and fictional stories, The Golden Legend was perhaps the most widely read book, after the Bible, during the late Middle Ages."

"This dictonary relates in a succinct, readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire European art is based. Cross-references enable the reader to identifiy the subject of a picture simply from some characteristic object or figure in it."

"The Oxford Dictionary of Saints gives concise accounts of nearly 1100 saints who lived, died, or have been venerated in Great Britain and Ireland, as well as others of notable historical importance from around the world."

"Answers to how various mythological, Biblical, and literary themes have been treated in literature, art, music, and the performing arts can be found in this work. It provides an analysis of over 100 selected themes that reflect the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of scholarly and academic work through the use of various iconographical sources."

"Over 4,000 important Americans, earliest times to 1905, in authentic contemporary likenesses. Explorers, assassins, politicians, writers, soldiers, theologians, educators, musicians, opera singers, society belles, scientists, inventors, industrialists, Indians, African-Americans, women, many other categories. 8,000-item classified index."

Includes reproductions and explanations of pre-20th Century historical portraiture in the West.

Covers portraits in the National Portrait Gallery, Great Britain.

21 volumes. Covers arists who worked between the fifteenth and eighteenth centuries. Describes Flemish, Dutch, German, and Italian prints - engravings, etchings, and woodcuts. Organized by periods and regions. Includes brief biographical sketches and discussion of the artist's oeuvre.

Provides reproductions for the 20,000 prints described in Le peintre-graveur.