Guides: Human genetics: Finding articles

Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus and requesting items not in the Library collection through Interlibrary Loan.

Core and additional databases

MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
The Ovid platform offers more advanced search features than PubMed; can be used as an alternative to PubMed
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (NCBI)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily.
PsycINFO 1987-present (Ovid)
PsycINFO is the primary database for psychology. It covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
PubMed (McGill)
Free access to bibliographic information from MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, other non-indexed citations, and NCBI Books.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Multidisciplinary. Provides citation counts, h-index, and patent searching.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
Multidisciplinary. Features citation counts, h-index, and access to Journal Citation Reports for journal impact factors.

Includes Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Chemical Indexes include: Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present, plus Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840), and Index Chemicus (1993-present).

BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science)
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books. Backfiles available to 1926.