To find books and ebooks containing largely translated primary sources in the Library Catalogue, try subject searching for primary sources related to the Cold War:
An eclectic and multi-faceted resource compiled from archived zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs, to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
The 1956 Hungarian Revolution
by
If there had been all-news television channels in 1956, viewers around the world would have been glued to their sets between October 23 and November 4. This book tells the story of the Hungarian Revolution in 120 original documents, ranging from the minutes of the first meeting of Khrushchev with Hungarian bosses after Stalin's death in 1953 to Yeltsin's declaration made in 1992. Other documents include letters from Yuri Andropov, Soviet Ambassador in Budapest during and after the revolt. The great majority of the material appears in English for the first time, and almost all come from archives that were inaccessible until the 1990s.
Assessing the Soviet threat : the early Cold War years
by
A cardboard castle? : an inside history of the Warsaw Pact, 1955-1991
by
The Cold War
by
The Cold War contains a selection of official and unofficial documents which provide a truly multi-faceted account of the entire Cold War era. Not only does this book put a human face on the conflict, but it draws emphasis to the variety of ways in which this conflict was experienced. The final selection of documents illustrates the global impact of the Cold War to the present day, and establishes links between the Cold War and the events of 11th September 2001.
The Cold War Presidency : a documentary history
by
''''The Cold War Presidency: A Documentary History is a must-have reference for students and scholars of this era. This new volume contains an extensive collection of documents alongside carefully crafted, objective analysis of all the key events of the Cold War.''''Organized chronologically by president, The Cold War Presidency presents original, analytical essays on the presidents and their roles during the Cold War from Harry Truman through George H.W. Bush, and over 150 important primary source documents with explanatory headnotes. The pairing together of these useful materials allows researchers to learn comprehensively or selectively about the interdependence of the presidency and the Cold War.''''Important primary source documents contained in this volume include:''''Presidential speeches''Executive and military orders''Internal planning and guidance memoranda''Conversations''Memoirs''Telegrams''Meeting minutes''Private letters''And many more''''The Cold War Presidency also includes selected documents from the other side of the Cold War from recently disclosed Soviet, Chinese, Eastern European document files. Engaging maps, timelines, and biographies of notable figures help readers understand key issues and information.'' ''This new reference resource will be a great fit for academic, school, and public libraries serving researchers in U.S. history, government, politics, foreign policy, and more.''''
Containment : documents on American policy and strategy, 1945-1950
by
Europe Transformed : documents on the end of the Cold War
by
Masterpieces of History : the peaceful end of the Cold War in Europe, 1989
by
On the Front Lines of the Cold War : documents on the intelligence war in Berlin 1946 to 1961
by
The Origins of the Cold War : the Novikov, Kennan, and Roberts "long telegrams" of 1946
by
U. S. Diplomatic Records on Relations with Yugoslavia During the Early Cold War, 1948-1957
by
This is a collection of primary documents on U.S. relations with Yugoslavia, incorporating State Department, Truman, and Eisenhower presidential primary sources on relations between the United States and Yugoslavia between 1948 and 1957.
Uprising in East Germany 1953
by
The volume is the first documented account of this early Cold War crisis from both sides of the Iron Curtain. Based on the recent unprecedented access to the once-closed archives of several member states of the Warsaw Pact, this collection of primary-source documents presents one of the most notorious events of post-war European history.
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
