Guides: HIST 374: History of Sexuality in Canada: Home

Getting Started

Useful Subject Guides

Canadian History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 2068 views this year
History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 283 views this year
Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
by Michael David MILLER Last Updated Sep 15, 2024 979 views this year

Find Secondary Sources

Find books and eBooks

Library Catalogue

Find peer-reviewed articles

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with coverage of issues related to sexual diversity. Includes gender-engaged scholarship from 1972 to the present.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, and a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports and contains archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Find Primary Sources

Local items

McGill's Osler Library of the History of Medicine has materials related to CATIE (Canadian AIDS Treatment Information Exchange). To find these materials, try searching the catalogue for CATIE and limiting the search to Osler materials on the lefthand side.

Newspapers

National

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage 1844-2018
Toronto Star (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Articles and full page reproductions of the complete newspaper from 1894, but does not include the last three years.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Local/regional

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Victoria Times-Colonist
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Province (1894-2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Vancouver Sun (1912 - 2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Edmonton Journal (1903 - 2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Saskatoon Star-Phoenix (1902-2009)
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Ottawa Citizen (1845 - 2010 )
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
Gazette (1857-2010); Montreal. (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Archive page content of the Gazette, precursor to the Montreal Gazette. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

La Presse
Montreal, QC. Digitized issues from BAnQ. Coverage 1884-2017 (click on 'calendar' icon to choose date).
Le Devoir
Daily independent newspaper from Montreal founded by Henri Bourassa. Digitized issues from BANQ. Coverage 1920-2020 (click on 'calendar' icon to choose date).

Online Canadian source collections

BC Gay and Lesbian Archives
The B .C. Gay and Lesbian Archives was founded in 1976 with the task of collecting, preserving and making accessible research materials about the lives of British Columbia gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered and intersexual persons.
The link takes you directly to digital objects. To isolate AV materials, use the filter on the left to narrow your results to Video and/or Audio under 'Media Type'.
LGBTQ History Digital Collaboratory
This public DH research initiative preserves gay, queer, and trans life stories from Canada and abroad. See especially the tabs labeled "Projects" and "Oral History Hub."
Rise Up! Feminist Archive
The Rise Up! project aims to create a digital archive of original publications, documents, flyers, posters, and many other materials representing feminist activism from the 1970s to 1990s across Canada and Quebec.
The ArQuives
The ArQuives is one of the largest independent LGBTQ2+ archives in the world and the only archive in Canada with a mandate to collect at a national level. Its mandate is to safeguard the LGBTQ2+ history of Canada. The ArQuives preserves a wide range of material including personal and organizational papers, books, monographs, photographs, moving images, sound recordings, periodicals, artifacts (like buttons, board games, t-shirts, and banners), and other reference material.
Tip: try browsing the digital exhibits.
Transgender Archives (University of Victoria)
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ and other gender-diverse people.
Edmonton Queer History Collection
This collection features 2SLGBTQ+ community magazines, newsletters, and items of historical significance. Material has been digitized in support of the Edmonton Queer History Project an innovate university-community project designed to help celebrate the people, places, and moments that have helped to build Edmonton’s 2SLGBTQ+ community.

Databases

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains access to original British source material for teaching and research on the history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Sex and Sexuality (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources)
- This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Archive containing historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, personal correspondence, interviews, publications, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries.
New modules: L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab
Includes reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health.Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.

Citations

History as a discipline uses the Chicago Manual of Style (18th edition) for citations, and usually the Notes-Bibliography form. This requires creating properly formatted footnotes footnotes and a Bibliography for your assignments. Resources to understand the Chicago style of citations are included below.

Note: Chicago Manual of Style updated to the 18th edition in September 2024.

HCS Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style
A guide to the Chicago Manual of Style developed for students in History and Classics (18th edition).

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Publication Date: 2024
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A guide to Chicago Manual of Style with more information on hard-to-cite or unusual sources than the original manual.

Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
McGill Library Citation Subject Guide
Under "citation styles by subject", select "History" for more resources on Chicago style.

Library Support

Chicago Workshops
McGill Librarians offer two virtual Chicago Citation Style workshops per term. Follow this link to find and register for upcoming workshops!
Citation Management
Attend a workshop to learn how to use Zotero or EndNote, useful citation management systems. Zotero is highly recommended for History students!

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies