Guides: HIST 333: Indigenous Peoples & French: Home

Getting Started

Canadian History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 1905 views this year
Indigenous Studies
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 1632 views this year

Dictionary of Canadian Biography / Dictionnaire biographique du Canada

Find Secondary Sources

Find books

Library Catalogue

Find peer-reviewed articles

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records.
*Can be used to find both secondary and primary sources depending on topic!
Erudit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary social science and humanities publications containing journals and e-book collections from Quebec University Presses. Interface available in English and French.
Repère
- This link opens in a new window
Repère is an index to articles from the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec.

Find dissertations/theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Theses Canada / Thèses Canada
Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities. It strives to:
- acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities
- provide free access to Canadian digital theses and dissertations in the collection
- facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection

Find Primary Sources

Digital Collections

W.H. Pugsley Collection of Early Canadian Maps
Donated by William Howard Pugsley, this collection contains 50 digitized early maps of Canada and North America, with a focus on Eastern Canada and New France.

Canadiana
- This link opens in a new window
Virtual library of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, government documents, maps, and more.
Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources)
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of primary sources containing manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and artwork exploring the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, as well as the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge. Primarily 19th-century documents.
North American Indian Thought and Culture (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Native American and Canadian First Peoples publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Includes documents from 1500-2000.
Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source documents around life on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920, covering European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia. Documents reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Early Encounters in North America (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished items by 1,482 authors including letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters with North American indigenous peoples.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of letters and diaries written by over 1,300 women who lived in North America from the 17th to the 20th century.

BAnQ Numérique
Digitized resources from the BAnQ; try filtering by year.
McCord Museum - Indigenous Cultures Collection
The Indigenous Cultures collection is composed of over 16,000 archaeological and historical objects covering nearly 12,000 years of history; over 6,000 are available in the online collection.
Gallica de la BnF
Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France. En libre accès, elle regroupe des livres numérisés, des cartulaires, des revues, des photos et une collection d'enluminures.
France in America
This online collection presents digitized items from the Library of Congress collection that explore the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century.

Books and eBooks

The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents by Reuben Gold Thwaites (ed.)
Publication Date: 1896-1901
Customs of the American Indians compared with the customs of primitive times by Joseph François Lafitau
Publication Date: 1974-77
La vie et les moeurs des sauvages ameriquains, comparées aux moeurs des premiers tems. by Joseph François Lafitau
Publication Date: 1732
The description and natural history of the coasts of North America (Acadia) by Nicolas Denys
Publication Date: 1908
Histoire naturelle des peuples, des animaux, des arbres & plantes de l'Amerique septentrionale... by Nicolas Denys
Publication Date: 1672
Mémoire sur les moeurs, coustumes et relligion des sauvages de l'Amérique septentrionale by Nicolas Perrot
Publication Date: 1864
Codex Canadensis and the Writings of Louis Nicolas by François-Marc Gagnon (Editor)
ISBN: 9780773587236
Publication Date: 2011

Citations

History as a discipline uses the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition) for citations, and usually the Notes-Bibliography form. This requires creating properly formatted footnotes footnotes and a Bibliography for your assignments. Resources to understand the Chicago style of citations are included below.

Note: Chicago Manual of Style will update to the 18th edition in September 2024.

HCS Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style
A guide to the Chicago Manual of Style developed for students in History and Classics (18th edition).

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
Publication Date: 2017
There is a copy of the current Chicago Manual of Style available for reference at the McLennan Service Desk (first floor).
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A guide to Chicago Manual of Style with more information on hard-to-cite or unusual sources than the original manual.

Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
McGill Library Citation Subject Guide
Under "citation styles by subject", select "History" for more resources on Chicago style.

Library Support

Chicago Workshops
McGill Librarians offer two virtual Chicago Citation Style workshops per term. Follow this link to find and register for upcoming workshops!
Citation Management
Attend a workshop to learn how to use Zotero or EndNote, useful citation management systems. Zotero is highly recommended for History students!

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies