Guides: HIST 320: Global Feminisms: Home

Getting started

Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
by Michael David MILLER Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 1143 views this year
Modern European History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 1208 views this year
Canadian History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 2458 views this year
U.S. History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 678 views this year
British History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 711 views this year

Link to other History Subject Guides

Reference Works

Leila J. Rupp and Verta Taylor, "Feminism and Social Movements," Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements.

Encyclopedia of Global Studies by Helmut K. Anheier (Editor); Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012

Find primary sources

Published Collections

Writings of many feminist leaders and thinkers across the globe are available in print or eBooks. Try searching the Library Catalogue in the following ways to identify published collections of primary sources:

By author:

Search in the author field using au: and the author's name. Examples:
au: Mott, Lucretia
au: Stanton, Elizabeth Cady

By title:

Search in the title field using ti: and using a known title in exact phrase searching. Examples:
ti:"the second sex"
ti:"the feminine mystique"

By subject:

Subject headings use the word sources to indicate primary sources. Try searching in the subject field using su: and by combining the term feminism with a location and the term sources. Examples:
su: feminism United States sources
su: feminism France sources
Further tip: you may wish to filter to the format Books

Digital Collections

Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Women's Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources)
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and journals spanning four centuries and 15 languages
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Includes access to the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Find secondary sources

Find journal articles

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the world except for Canada and the United States, after 1450.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with coverage of issues related to sexual diversity. Includes gender-engaged scholarship from 1972 to the present.

Find books

Library Catalogue

Citations

History as a discipline uses the Chicago Manual of Style (18th edition) for citations, and usually the Notes-Bibliography form. This requires creating properly formatted footnotes footnotes and a Bibliography for your assignments. Resources to understand the Chicago style of citations are included below.

Note: Chicago Manual of Style updated to the 18th edition in September 2024.

HCS Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style
A guide to the Chicago Manual of Style developed for students in History and Classics (18th edition).

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Publication Date: 2024
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A guide to Chicago Manual of Style with more information on hard-to-cite or unusual sources than the original manual. Note that this manual has not yet been updated to reflect the changes in the 18th edition of Chicago.

Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
McGill Library Citation Subject Guide
Under "citation styles by subject", select "History" for more resources on Chicago style.

Library Support

Chicago Workshops
McGill Librarians offer virtual Chicago Citation Style workshops every term. Follow this link to find and register for upcoming workshops!
Citation Management
Attend a workshop to learn how to use Zotero or EndNote, useful citation management systems. Zotero is highly recommended for History students!

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies

HIST 320: Global Feminisms