Guides: HIST 312: History of Consumption in Canada: Home

Getting Started

Artificial Intelligence
by Amanda Wheatley Last Updated Aug 16, 2024 10577 views this year
Canadian History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 1905 views this year
Indigenous Studies
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 1632 views this year
Black Canadian Studies
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Aug 16, 2024 813 views this year

Find Secondary Sources

Find books

Library Catalogue

Find peer-reviewed articles

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Erudit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary social science and humanities publications containing journals and e-book collections from Quebec University Presses including: Presses de l'Université de Montréal, Presses de l'Université Laval, Publications du CRIR. Erudit Cultural Magazines collection is not included in McGill's subscription.
Repère
- This link opens in a new window
Repère is an index to articles from the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec.

Find Primary Sources

Newspapers & Magazines

Newspapers and magazines are excellent places to find ads, and especially to see ads in context. The links below include places to find newspapers and magazines from across Canada. For a greater selection of Canadian newspapers, see the Newspapers Guide.

Gazette (1857-2010); Montreal. (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Archive page content of the Gazette, precursor to the Montreal Gazette. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage 1844-2018
Toronto Star (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Articles and full page reproductions of the complete newspaper from 1894, but does not include the last three years.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

McGill Student Publications
The McGill Student publications collection comprises a variety of publications from 1875 to 2001.
Old McGill Yearbooks
The Old McGill yearbooks from 1898-2000 have been digitized, and can serve as an excellent way to research individuals.
Maclean's Magazine Archive
Maclean's Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs.
You can search for advertisements by searching a keyword (e.g., soap) and selecting "advertisement" under Document Type. To browse issues, click Publications at the top, then click Maclean's Magazine. You can then navigate by year on the righthand side.
Canadiana Serials Collection
The Serials collection includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Features 1700 periodical titles with 95,000 issues.

CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, it features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and dissertations.

Ad*Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Although as the title indicates this database is focused on America, there is Canadian content. Search in the "International Publications, 1914-2014" series, and in the 3rd-level Series "Canada Office Publications".

Find more periodicals in the Library Catalogue by searching for individual titles, or by searching Subject Headings. For example:

ti:The Canadian Queen
ti:Canadian Home Journal
su: Canadian periodicals
su: Women's periodicals, Canadian (English)

You can also limit on the lefthand side to "Journal, Magazine" or "Newspapers" for better results.

Gov Docs & Laws

Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources
House of Commons and Senate debates from 1867-1993.
Canadian Parliamentary Debates (Hansard), 1901-2019 via LiPaD
Digitized transcripts of Canadian Parliamentary Debates ("Hansard"), 1901-2019, available via the Linked Parliamentary Data Project at the University of Toronto.
Provincial Hansard
Provincial parliamentary debates are linked on this LibGuide.
Canadian Law LibGuide: Historical Laws
Find resources on locating historic Canadian Laws put together by our Law Librarians.

Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes) (HeinOnline)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of the Public General Acts in the form in which they were originally enacted by Parliament in a given calendar year and official consolidations of 1985, 1970, 1952, 1927, 1906, and 1886.

Halsbury’s Laws of Canada
Canadian legal encyclopedia.
This is a useful resource for when you don’t know which statutes to look for, for example if you search “temperance” you find a reference to the 1878 Scott Act, and a bit of information on its evolution and other related statutes to look up.

Citing Canadian Government Documents

The Chicago Manual of Style offers only limited guidance on citing Canadian Government Documents. Refer instead to the excellent guide from the SFU Library linked below.

Guide to Citing Canadian Government Documents

Citations

History as a discipline uses the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition) for citations, and usually the Notes-Bibliography form. This requires creating properly formatted footnotes footnotes and a Bibliography for your assignments. Resources to understand the Chicago style of citations are included below.

Note: Chicago Manual of Style will update to the 18th edition in September 2024.

HCS Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style
A guide to the Chicago Manual of Style developed for students in History and Classics (18th edition).

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
Publication Date: 2017
There is a copy of the current Chicago Manual of Style available for reference at the McLennan Service Desk (first floor).
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A guide to Chicago Manual of Style with more information on hard-to-cite or unusual sources than the original manual.

Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
McGill Library Citation Subject Guide
Under "citation styles by subject", select "History" for more resources on Chicago style.

Library Support

Chicago Workshops
McGill Librarians offer two virtual Chicago Citation Style workshops per term. Follow this link to find and register for upcoming workshops!
Citation Management
Attend a workshop to learn how to use Zotero or EndNote, useful citation management systems. Zotero is highly recommended for History students!

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies

McGill University Collections Centre

Check on the progress of the move of the McLennan-Library circulating collection at the Collections Centre website.