Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As of Monday, January 24, all Library branches, including stack areas, will be accessible to current McGill students, faculty, and staff. In-person reference and circulation services will resume across branches. As a result of this reopening, the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service, Pickup Service and Study Hubs will be discontinued. More information available here.
Physical science and engineering e-books
- ACM Books
Quality books for the computer science community, published by ACM in collaboration with Morgan & Claypool Publishers.
Provides e-books from GeoScienceWorld.
- IEEE Xplore
Provides e-books from IEEE and its partner publishers.
- IET Digital Library
Provides science, engineering, and technology e-books published by IET. McGill Library's subscribed content is indicated with a purple lock.
- IGI Global Online - InfoSci Platform
IGI e-book platform with unlimited simultaneous access and books can be downloaded in PDF.
- Oxford Reference Online
Reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- RSC Chemistry e-books
Provides biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery, and physics e-books published by Royal Society of Chemistry from 1968 to 2017.
Provides e-books published by Elsevier. McGill subscriptions are indicated by a green square box.
- Science of Synthesis (Thieme)
Provides access to books in the Science of Synthesis series and the Houben-Weyl Archive.
- SIAM e-books
Provides e-books published by Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Provides e-books published by Springer. You may download individual chapters and the whole book in PDF.
Provides books published by Morgan & Claypool. The whole book is downloadable.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks
Provides books published by Taylor & Francis Group, CRC Press, Routledge, etc.
- Wageningen Academic
E-books on animal, food, plant, social, and environmental sciences published by Wageningen. The whole book is downloadable.
- Wiley Online Library
Provides e-books published by Wiley and its partner publishers.
- World Scientific
Complete e-book collection published in 2013 by World Scientific and titles in selected subjects published between 2005 and 2012.
- Cambridge Core
E-books published from Cambridge University Press and other partner presses.
- De Gruyter Online
Scholarly e-books from different university presses available on the De Gruyter University Press platform.
- Scholars Portal
McGill Library has access to the e-books published from Canadian University presses.
- Project MUSE
Complete package of e-books from Project MUSE including e-books published by many university presses.
- Oxford Scholarship Online (Oxford University Press Scholarship Online)
E-books published by Oxford University Press and many partner university presses.
The complete guide to using e-books is available at here.
- How do I access e-books from off campus?
Accessing e-books requires a connection to McGill’s network. You will need to log into EZproxy or VPN if you choose to access them from off campus.
- Can I print out chapters of an e-book?
Whether or not an e-book is printable is varying among platforms. Generally speaking, e-books available on a publisher platform can be printed by chapter. E-books from aggregators are more likely to be restricted to do so, but you may be able to print out the current screen or some pages, depending on the platform.
- Can I download an e-book?
Similarly, downloading allowance depends on the e-book platform too. E-books available on a publisher platform are usually downloadable by chapter or the whole book in PDF.
- How many users can access an e-book at the same time?
It depends on the platform. Many of our e-books available on publisher platforms can be accessed by an unlimited number of users simultaneously. However, e-books on some aggregator platforms only allow limited user access at the same time, for example, books on Skillsoft. A user may get a “maximum users reached” page after all the available seats are occupied.
- Can I request a print copy for an e-book to which the library has access?
Yes, you may request a print copy of an e-book through the Library’s InterLibrary Loan Service even if the library has access to that e-book but you find a print version would be more suitable.