Classical Studies

A digital resource for locating and studying handwritten inscriptions of the early Roman empire drawn from Herculaneum and Pompeii.

Comprehensive collection of ancient Latin inscriptions.

Many epigraphs are reprinted in journal articles in this journal, accessible online via the Library Catalogue.

The Johns Hopkins University has one of the oldest and richest university collections of classical artifacts in the United States. The epigraphic materials comprise some one hundred fifty Latin inscriptions, mainly epitaphs from Rome.

Website of a mlutiyear project to catalogue and share Roman stories from the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford.

Try searching the Library Catalogue for the subject of Latin inscriptions (su:Inscriptions, Latin). This will bring up many results, including some inscriptions that have been translated to English.

The corpus of inscriptions from the Roman province of Britannia is known as The Roman Inscriptions of Britain. RIB Online reproduces the printed edition and the relevant addenda and corrigenda published in Journal of Roman Studies and Britannia.

A list of online translations of inscriptions and main collections of inscriptions mentioned on the Attalus site.

Online inscription database allowing for both searching and browsing.

Online database that records almost all Latin inscriptions. Allows for advanced searching, but can be difficult to navigate.

The ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.

Collection of translated documents, mainly papyri, from the time of Augustus.

A database that allows searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials.

Select papyri from the Loeb volume available on the Attalus site.