Guides: EAST 533: Classical Chinese: Resources

Getting Started

Dictionaries

王力古漢語字典
- This link opens in a new window
古汉语常用字字典
- This link opens in a new window
漢語大詞典 (12 volumes)
- This link opens in a new window
漢語大詞典 (3-volume compact edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Outline of Classical Chinese Grammar
- This link opens in a new window
Downloadable ebook (*select the De Gruyter Online Provider link)
A student's dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese
- This link opens in a new window
中文字譜 : [漢英字源字典]
- This link opens in a new window
漢典

Background Information

[ProQuest] ProQuest historical newspapers. Chinese Newspapers Collection. The Canton Times (1919-1920) -- The China critic (1939-1946) -- China Monthly Review (1950-1953) -- The China Press (1925-1938) -- The China Weekly Review (1923-1950) -- The Chinese Recorder (1912-1938) -- The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review (1939-1941) -- The Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal (1868-1912) -- The Chinese Repository (1832-1851) -- Millard's China National Review (1919-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921) -- The North-China Herald (1850-1867) -- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869) -- The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941) -- Peking Daily News (1914-1917), English ed. -- Peking Gazette (1915-1917) -- The Peking Leader (1918-1919) -- The Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921) -- The Shanghai Times (1914-1921) -- The Weekly Review (1922-1923) -- The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922). *Click here to browse the 22 publications.
- This link opens in a new window
Kiang Kang-hu fonds : MG 4025 The fonds documents the three years that Kiang was employed by McGill University. His teaching materials include course outlines and examinations, as well as examination papers for a course in Oriental philosophy he gave at the University of Oregon Summer School in 1930. The administration of the Department of Chinese Studies is documented by requisitions and invoices for equipment and furniture, correspondence on library purchases, and letters regarding possible posts in the department, the curriculum, Kiang's salary and appointment, the Gest Chinese Library and general administrative matters. Kiang's personal files concern his work with the Hung Tao Society, his collaboration with Witter Bynmer, current events in China, and Kiang's publications and speaking engagements
- This link opens in a new window

Literary Works in Classical Chinese

In the following databases, search by keywords, such as:

蒙特利尔 | 蒙特利爾

蒙特娄 | 蒙特婁

魁北克

全国报刊索引 : 文献数据库 Quan guo bao kan suo yin : wen xian shu ju ku = National index to Chinese newspapers & periodicals full-text database 1 simultaneous user A digital collection of the historical magazines and newspapers held at the Shanghai Library. The McGill Library subscribes to: 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911) = Late Qing dynasty periodical full-text database (1833-1911) -- 民国时期期刊全文数据库 (1911-1949) = Chinese periodical full-text database (1911-1949)
- This link opens in a new window
[青苹果] 申報. Shen bao = Shanghai News (1872-1949) A full-text searchable archive that consists of almost a complete run (256,000 issues) of the newspaper. Includes scanned images of original newspaper pages.
- This link opens in a new window
读秀 = duxiu.com An aggregated search engine created by SuperStar（超星） Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.
- This link opens in a new window

Related Guides

[McGill Library] Chinese Studies Guide
Discover resources in Chinese and English, and the services of the McGill Libraries provide for Chinese Studies research.
MLA. OWL (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
Yale Library's Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean Sources

Resource Key

McGill users only
Open access resource
Free resource
Catalogue record

East Asian Studies & Political Science Liaison Librarian

Hye-jin Juhn

Email me

Contact:

McLennan Library Building
3459 McTavish Street
Montreal, Quebec H3A 0C9

514-396-2065

Subjects: East Asian studies, Political science