Chinese Studies

A database of traditional ancient Chinese texts, texts from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD).

A digital library of the Shanghai Commercial Press' editions (1922, 1932 and 1936) of Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊. Viewable either in scanned image format or OCR text format.

Images and texts of more than 17,000 Inscriptions on metal and stones, selected by the National Library of China. Browseable by period: 第一編. 先秦秦漢魏晉南北朝 -- 第二編. 隋唐五代 -- 第三編. 兩宋 -- 第四編. 遼金元 -- 第五編. 明清. Also, viewable either in scanned image format or OCR text format.

An online version of the Chinese classics (經部，史部，子部，集部), edited and published by the Zhonghua Book Company (中华书局有限公司).

A full-text database, developed by Academia Sinica in Taiwan. Included are the Twenty-five Histories, Thirteen Classics, Essays of Statecraft in Qing Period, Taiwan Documents and Local Gazetteers, Chinese novels and dramas, as well as Buddhist and Taoist texts and other ancient and modern texts. Click "授權使用“ to access the full content available for McGill users.

Available through Project Gutenberg, an online library of free eBooks. Contents: 鄧析子 = Deng Xi Zi / Deng Xi -- 鬼谷子 = Gui Gu Zi / Wang Xu -- 尉繚子 = Wei Liao Zi / Wei Liao -- 人物志 = Ren Wu Zhi / Liu Shao -- 公孫龍子 = Gong Sun Long Zi / Gong Sun Long -- 三略 = San Lue / Huang Shi Gong -- 竹齋集 = Zhu Zhai Ji / Wang Mian.

A digital collection of the historical magazines and newspapers held at the Shanghai Library. The McGill Library subscribes to: 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911) = Late Qing dynasty periodical full-text database (1833-1911) -- 民国时期期刊全文数据库 (1911-1949) = Chinese periodical full-text database (1911-1949)

The Canton Times (1919-1920) -- The China critic (1939-1946) -- China Monthly Review (1950-1953) -- The China Press (1925-1938) -- The China Weekly Review (1923-1950) -- The Chinese Recorder (1912-1938) -- The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review (1939-1941) -- The Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal (1868-1912) -- The Chinese Repository (1832-1851) -- Millard's China National Review (1919-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921) -- The North-China Herald (1850-1867) -- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869) -- The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941) -- Peking Daily News (1914-1917), English ed. -- Peking Gazette (1915-1917) -- The Peking Leader (1918-1919) -- The Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921) -- The Shanghai Times (1914-1921) -- The Weekly Review (1922-1923) -- The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922).

*Click here to browse the 22 publications.

An English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time

A full-text searchable archive that consists of almost a complete run (256,000 issues) of the newspaper. Includes scanned images of original newspaper pages.

An open access database of a research project that examines four influential women's magazines published in Shanghai between 1904-1937. Provides research materials including the images of the original issues of the magazines

The Center for Research Libraries' collection of approximately 300 Chinese newspapers from the late 19th century to the first half of the 20th century. Browse by title.

This digital archive is a collaborative project among the libraries, including the McGill Library, the Harvard-Yenching Library, and the Peking University Library. As of December 2022, the archive provides free online access to 426 collections of women's writings published during Ming (1368-1644), Qing (1644-1911), and the Republican (1911-1949) periods. Users can search and browse more than 70,000 scanned images of texts and illustrations by the 5,240 women poets and writers and the 2,475 male writers who contributed to women's writings as editors/compilers or as writers of prefaces, biographies, endorsement verse, and postscripts.

An open access data platform, developed by the Institute of of the Modern History at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, which provides free access to data (books, newspapers, archival documents, journals, images, audios, and videos) related to Sino-Japanese relations from 1731.

Contains original archival documents, along with Chinese Communist Party internal documents, representing the history of political movements during the Mao Zedong era. This database series is designed to facilitate research on the Cultural Revolution among the academic community outside of China. Editor-in-Chief: Professor Song Yongyi (宋永毅).

Makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, and synopses on Chinese personalities.

A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society. Highlights include: British government records covering economic development in China and its neighbours, 1950-80 -- Correspondence from the Macartney Embassy, the first British diplomatic mission to China, 1792-94 -- The diaries, notebooks and published writings of Rewi Alley (1897-1987), New Zealand educator and industrial organiser in communist China.

Provides a wide variety of English-language original source material detailing China¹s interaction with the West from Macartney¹s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. Sources of the materials include the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), the British Library, the Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library.

- Module 1 features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009.
- Module 2 features the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. Articles, often in the form of letters authored by missionaries abroad, are enhanced by detailed illustrations and photographs of their surroundings, the mission community and the people among whom they worked.

Covers colonialism, politics, nationalism, military actions, government systems, economics, and geography of Japan, China, and Korea from the 1910s to 1980s.

A series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. McGill users can access: Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1869-1950 -- Missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals (1817-1949).

Collections of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records that were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions.