This is the medical section of the Cannabis guide. In here, you will find more information on:
If you don't find what you're looking for, contact me at mylene.pinard@mcgill.ca. Most of the information on this page was taken (with permission) from Dalhousie's Cannabis guide. It is only a fragment of what Dal's guide contains. If you're looking for more info related to health and cannabis, be sure to check their guide.
A compound that is either extracted from cannabis sativa (marijuana) or synthesized to elicit similar pharmacologic effects.
A species of annual herb native to Central and South Asia, whose tough fiber (hemp) is used for making rope and its oils, resins, and seeds used medicinally and as a psychoactive, recreational drug.
Anxiety, insomnia, irritability, and craving for marijuana (Cannabis sativa) in those who use the drug habitually and then abruptly stop using it.
A more or less purified, gummy extract prepared from the flowers, stalks, and leaves of the hemp plant Cannabis sativa. It is smoked or chewed for its euphoric effects. Its psychoactive effects are usually stronger than those of marijuana.
The dried flowering tops of Cannabis sativa, the hemp plant. Marijuana has many colloquial and street names, e.g., dope, ganja, Mary Jane, pot, and weed.
Legally sanctioned use of marijuana for people with a variety of conditions, including chronic pain, glaucoma, or nausea and vomiting caused by chemotherapy.
Pediatric exposure to marijuana or its constituent chemicals may have adverse effects on the developing brain.
The principal psychoactive component in marijuana and hashish.
References
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Cannabinoid; p. 363.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Cannabis Sativa; p. 363.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Cannabis withdrawal symptom; p. 363.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Hashish; p. 1066.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Marijuana; p. 1459.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Medical Marijuana; p. 1460.
Taber’s cyclopedic medical dictionary. 23rd ed. Phildelphia: F.A. David Company; 2017. Tetrahydrocannabinol; p. 2328.
The searches below offer a sampling of what is available in the current literature. They are not comprehensive.
Copy and paste this text into the PubMed main search box:
(marijuana*[tiab] OR cannabis*[tiab] OR hash[tiab] OR weed[tiab] OR marihuana*[tiab] OR THC[tiab])
Copy and paste this text into the CINAHL main search box:
(TI marijuana* OR AB marijuana* OR TI cannabis* OR AB cannabis* OR TI hash OR AB hash OR TI weed OR AB weed OR TI marihuana* OR AB marihuana* OR TI thc OR AB thc)
Copy and paste this text into the PsycINFO main search box:
(TI marijuana* OR AB marijuana* OR TI cannabis* OR AB cannabis* OR TI hash OR AB hash OR TI weed OR AB weed OR TI marihuana* OR AB marihuana* OR TI thc OR AB thc)
For more overviews and evidence collections about cannabis, click here.
For more clinical tools, click here.
McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
