Guides: Ethnomusicology (Draft): Best practices and research ethics

Ethics and research

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
- Created by the Society of American Archivists, offering an overview of what archives are and how to use them for research
- Copyright information provided is based on the US laws
- Useful for beginner researchers who are new to or not familiar with working with archives
Ethics and Sound and Audiovisual Archives
- A guide prepared by the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA) delineating the ethical principles involved when working with sound and audiovisual archives
- Also discusses every step of the process from collecting sound and images during fieldwork, processing, preserving and accessing materials collected, rights and responsibilities of researchers and the archives, and the copyright and intellectual property rights of the owners
- The technical guidelines on the IASA website are also useful to researchers who wish to explore this area further

Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Human Participants - TCPS 2 (2022)
- A policy with which all research funded by Canada's three federal research agencies must comply
- Consult Chapter 9 for the framework for the ethical conduct of research involving Indigenous peoples
- A must-read for researchers receiving Canada's federal funding or aiming to publish/present findings of research involving Indigenous community
First Nations Ethics Guide on Research Research and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge
- ss
- ss
- ss
Conducting research at six nations
- ss
- ss
- ss
Protocols for Using First Nations Cultural and Intellectual Property in the Arts
- A guide with principles and protocols prepared by the Australia Council for the Arts for collaborating and creating new Indigenous work
- Part 1 explains concepts relating to Indigenous cultural heritage as well as Australian and international legal and policy protections. Part 2 includes case study examples showing how the protocols are applied in practice.
- The project checklist at the end of the guide is a very useful resource to help one consider all aspects of the research process from planning and developing the project, producing the work, to publication and dissemination.
- The template at the end of the guide provides sample sentences and phrases for use in project documentations, communications and publications.