Guides: AFYR 101 Complex Problems: Article databases (and beyond)

Database Contents

The databases below often include journal articles, but can may also contain videos, images, newspaper articles, and more.

Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to selected e-book content from University Presses.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. Coverage: 1951 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
ProQuest Research Library
Provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Scopus (Elsevier)
Curated abstract and citation database, updated daily with enriched data and linked scholarly content for Health, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Worldwide peer-reviewed literature includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

(1975-present)
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, books, and reference works published by Wiley.
Unlimited simultaneous users.