Guides: HIST 199: FYS History: For your class

Winter 2024

Every time HIST 199 is offered, it is taught with a focus on a unique historical topic. This section of the course guide includes unique resources tailored to the topic currently (or most recently) on offer.

Race and Nation in Latin America and the Caribbean

Latin American & Caribbean History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 303 views this year

Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History
Peer-reviewed and regularly updated encyclopedia with over 600 articles on various aspects of Latin American history.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Ana M. Lopez (Editor); Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000
This encyclopedia offers coverage of more than 40 Latin American and Caribbean regions from 1920 to the end of the 20th century, focusing on culture such as food, sport, religion, television, transport, architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.

Secondary source databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
HAPI online

Primary source databases

Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, placing particular emphasis on the Caribbean, Latin America, and United States. International in scope, this collection was developed by an international editorial board with scholars specializing in North American, European, African, and Latin American/Caribbean aspects of the slave trade.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century
The Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century offer a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.

Colonial Caribbean (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Modules 1-3: Settlement, Slavery, and Empire
"Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords." (Adam Matthew)
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
African Diaspora: Cultural, Social and Political History, 1860-present (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.