Guides: HIST 409: Topics in Latin American History: Slavery & Freedom in Latin America and the Caribbean: Home

Getting started

Latin American & Caribbean History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 171 views this year
African History
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 699 views this year
HIST 366: History of Haiti
by Kristen Howard Last Updated Aug 16, 2024 59 views this year

Find primary sources

Digital Collections

Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, placing particular emphasis on the Caribbean, Latin America, and United States. International in scope, this collection was developed by an international editorial board with scholars specializing in North American, European, African, and Latin American/Caribbean aspects of the slave trade.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documents and collections from 1490 and 2007 drawn from libraries and archives across the UK and North America offering a colonial perspective on the varieties and legacies of slavery. Offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century
The Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century offer a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.

Colonial Caribbean (Adam Matthew)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
African Diaspora: Cultural, Social and Political History, 1860-present (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture (Gale Primary Sources)
- This link opens in a new window
Online pamphlets and monographs from the collection of Manoel de Oliveira Lima -- Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector whose career spanned Brazil's transition from empire to republic.
The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab
Colonial State Papers (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

Coverage: 1574 - 1757

Find secondary sources

Find journal articles

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
History database for all geographical regions of the world except for Canada and the U.S., after 1450. Remember to use the Historical Period filter in the advanced search options.
HAPI online
Includes citations to articles and book reviews from the social sciences and humanities about Central and South America.

Find books

Library Catalogue

Citations

History as a discipline uses the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition) for citations, and usually the Notes-Bibliography form. This requires creating properly formatted footnotes footnotes and a Bibliography for your assignments. Resources to understand the Chicago style of citations are included below.

Note: Chicago Manual of Style will update to the 18th edition in September 2024.

HCS Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style
A guide to the Chicago Manual of Style developed for students in History and Classics (18th edition).

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
Publication Date: 2017
There is a copy of the current Chicago Manual of Style available for reference at the McLennan Service Desk (first floor).
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A guide to Chicago Manual of Style with more information on hard-to-cite or unusual sources than the original manual.

Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Quick Guide
McGill Library Citation Subject Guide
Under "citation styles by subject", select "History" for more resources on Chicago style.

Library Support

Chicago Workshops
McGill Librarians offer two virtual Chicago Citation Style workshops per term. Follow this link to find and register for upcoming workshops!
Citation Management
Attend a workshop to learn how to use Zotero or EndNote, useful citation management systems. Zotero is highly recommended for History students!