Culinary History and Cookbook Collection at RBSC

As the national library, LAC-BAC has one of the most substantial cookbook collections in Canada

The collection includes nearly 1,000 cookbooks and recipe booklets, most of them promotional in nature, produced between the mid-18th and early 21st centuries. The majority of these documents were either published in Canada or feature products widely consumed by Canadians.

The University of the Fraser Valley has compiled a significant collection of online cookbooks dating from 1905 to 1968, including community cookbooks, pamphlets from food companies and related ephemera

One of the most Significant collections of culinary materials in Canada, the Fisher holds over 40 manuscript cookbooks, significant published cookbooks, and a substantial menu collection.

The Canadian Culinary Collection at the University of Guelph comprises books used and/or published by Canadians and contains more than 12,600 items. This collection can also be explored through the website, What Canada Ate?

Canadian Cookbook Collection housed in Archival & Special Collections in McLaughlin Library at the University of Guelph. The site provides free access to digital facsimiles of historic Canadian cookbooks and student curated exhibits. The Culinary Collection comprises nearly 20,000 cookbooks dating from the 17th century to the present day and is one of the largest such collections in North America.

An archived online exhibition produced by CHC member Carol Martin for Library and Archives Canada in 2003–04. A useful site for reference.

held at McGill University’s Rare Books and Special Collections consists of fifteen books, ten notebooks and approximately 300 loose documents, containing over 1,600 culinary, medical and household handwritten recipes, all of which is now searchable using OCR and Handwritten Text Recognition.

Early Modern Maritime Recipes compiles a record of extant recipes by digitizing and transcribing recipes from archival collections throughout the Maritime provinces.

With approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present, The New York Public Library’s restaurant menu collection is one of the largest in the world, used by historians, chefs, novelists and everyday food enthusiasts.

Project by the Nova Scotia Archives documenting recipes and digitzed cookbooks from Nova Scotia.

Canadian Cookbook Collection housed in Archival & Special Collections in McLaughlin Library at the University of Guelph. The site provides free access to digital facsimiles of historic Canadian cookbooks and student curated exhibits. The Culinary Collection comprises nearly 20,000 cookbooks dating from the 17th century to the present day and is one of the largest such collections in North America.