Skip to Main Content
Secondary Sources
- Bibliography of Islamic Criminal Law. The most extensive bibliography on Islamic criminal law ever compiled.
- Bibliography of Islamic Law, 1980-1993. This bibliography covers English-language books and articles within books that discuss Islamic law.
- Encyclopaedia Islamica. Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam. This third edition is comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
- Encyclopaedia of Islamic Law. A ten volume encyclopaedia that covers the foundations of Islamic Law, as well as civil law, family law, criminal law and jurisprudence.
- The Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān Direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur'āns Online and the Electronic Qur'ān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research.
- Encyclopedia of Islamic law: a compendium of the views of the major schools. The various schools of law are compared and contrasted on all issues of the Shariah
- Oxford Bibliographies -Islamic Studies. It includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. A comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world.
- In The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History, search: Islamic Law: This entry contains six subentries, an overview of Islamic law, discussion of the sources and methodology of the law, the genres of legal literature, legal and ethical qualifications, spheres of the law, and transmission and authenticity of the reports from the prophet. For discussion of the schools of Islamic law, see Islamic Schools of Sacred Law.
