Primary sources are original documents and objects created at the time being studies, such as diaries, newspaper accounts, letters, governmental records, or drawings. Any record that documents a past event can be considered a primary source.
You can find primary sources in libraries, museums, and archives, including McGill's Rare Books and Special Collections Library (located on the 4th floor of the McLennan Library building). You can also find digitized primary sources online in library databases, such as those linked below, as well as in digitized collections, such as McGill's Digital Exhibitions & Collections.
Librarians at Concordia University Library have put together an excellent guide on archival collections on Black History from across Canada. Please refer to this guide to learn more.
Many, if not most, historical primary sources available from the following digital collections were written about, rather than by, Black Canadians. Be sure to keep this in mind when analyzing these sources. Additionally, due to their historic nature, items may contain and/or be described by offensive and outdated terminology. Please be aware of this and take care of yourself when consulting these sources.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Refugee, or, The Narratives of Fugitive Slaves in Canada by 
Black Slavery in the Maritimes: A History in Documents by 
"Face Zion Forward": First Writers of the Black Atlantic, 1785-1798 by 
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowA brief history of Montreal's Black community, illustrated with photos and archival documents.
Research collection of books and archives focused on Hatian, Carribean and Afro-Canadian History.
Concordia University Library's Special Collections has an excellent and varied collection of Black History archives and papers that tell stories of Montreal’s English-speaking Black communities and preserve the histories of community-based organizations and the lives of members of the city’s Black communities more broadly. This includes the archive of the Negro Community Centre (NCC)/Charles H. Este Cultural Centre, acquired in 2012. Since its acquisition, this area has grown exponentially with the addition of archives and collections documenting the rich histories, contributions, and interests of Montreal’s Black English-speaking communities.
To consult these documents, contact Special Collections at spec-coll@concordia.ca at least 3 working days in advance of your desired appointment and let a staff member know what materials you would like to see and when. If you are not sure what you would like to consult, a staff member will help guide you and provide you with the tools necessary to learn what is available.
Introduction: The Roy States collection was donated by his estate in 1981. States, a long-time employee of McGill University, was concerned both with documenting the Black experience and providing a positive image for Black youth. To this end, he gathered together a body of diverse materials concerning Afro-American history.
Extent and types of material: The collection of some 1,200 items includes monographs, newspapers, off-prints, articles and some photographs. While much of the material relates to North America in general, there is material relating to Canada and Montreal; a few key items related to Black Canadian Studies are highlighted below. Records for the holdings are in the McGill Library catalogue.
Librarian: Christopher Lyons, Head Librarian (e-mail: christopher.lyons@mcgill.ca, telephone: 514-398-4708)
McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
