Guides: Inclusive Writing Guide (English): Ethnicity and Race

The limits of my language means the limits of my world.

Ludwig Wittgenstein, Austrian-British philosopher

Ethnicity and Race

ethnicity and race icon This section of the guide contains resources to help you think intentionally about your choice of race and ethnic descriptors. When speaking or writing about someone's race or ethnicity it is important not to generalize. If you do need to specify this characteristic, the APA Publication Manual (APA 7) has clear definitions of both. "Race refers to physical characteristics that groups and cultures consider socially significant” and “ethnicity refers to shared cultural characteristics such as language, ancestry, practices and beliefs” (APA Publication Manual, 2020, p. 142).

As a general guideline, always try to find and use the term that the group uses to describe themselves and be as location specific as possible. For example, instead of Asian American, use Japanese American, identifying the region or nation of origin.

A few definitions maybe helpful in your reading of these resource links.

What is a stereotype? Stereotypes are preconceived and generalized beliefs about an entire group of people that lump them all together and do not consider individual differences between people within the group.

What is bias? Bias refers to intentional or unintentional use of language that favours a person or group.

What are microaggressions? Microaggressions refer to the intentional or unintentional harm that an individual or group feels when inappropriate words are used by others.

THE ONE TO READ

Approaching Writing with an Antiracist Perspective
This handout addresses some commonly misunderstood terms and provide guidelines on how to approach writing with an antiracist perspective. It outlines elements that can be considered racist, biased, or micro-aggressive in writing and covers some strategies on how to avoid this kind of language. Written by Seher Vora, San José State University Writing Center. Fall 2020.

Picture of Seher, Writing Center Tutor

Seher Vora is a MFA student in Creative Writing (Fiction) who is also a writing tutor for the San José State University Writing Center.

This handout includes a short activity that really helps one understand the information presented. Sentences are analyzed to identify any instances of stereotypes, bias (explicit or implicit), and/or microaggressions and the author provides her answers.

RESOURCES BY TOPIC

General

The Ethics of Microaggression by Regina Rini
ISBN: 9781315195056
Publication Date: 2020
Slips of the tongue, unwitting favoritism, and stereotyped assumptions are just some examples of microaggression. Over time a pattern of microaggression can cause considerable harm by reminding members of marginalized groups of their precarious position. This book demystifies a controversial and extremely important topic in clear language.
Microaggressions in Everyday Life by Derald Wing Sue
ISBN: 9780470491409
Publication Date: 2010
This book insightfully looks at the various kinds of microaggressions and their psychological effects on both perpetrators and their targets and includes realistic and optimistic guidance for combating and ending microaggressions in our society.

Approaching Writing with an Antiracist Perspective
This handout addresses some commonly misunderstood terms and provide guidelines on how to approach writing with an antiracist perspective. It outlines elements that can be considered racist, biased, or micro-aggressive in writing and covers some strategies on how to avoid this kind of language. Written by Seher Vora, San José State University Writing Center. Fall 2020.
Calgary Anti-Racism Education
This website documents an anti-racism active process that involves continuous learning and reflection called "active learning", including group activities and a glossary with key term definitions and appropriate and current terms.

Academic Writing

Inclusive & Antiracist Writing Resources: Simon Fraser (SFU) Library, Student Learning Commons
This guide contains an overview of the steps to make your writing inclusive as well as a glossary.
Style Guide: Inclusive Language Guidelines
A Style Guide that provides guidance on the use of inclusive language provided by the Queen’s University Human Rights and Equity Office.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It contains a new chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality

APA - Bias-Free Language
Writers using APA Style must strive to use language that is free of bias and avoid perpetuating prejudicial beliefs or demeaning attitudes in their writing. The guidelines for bias-free language contain both general guidelines for writing about people without bias across a range of topics and specific guidelines that address the individual characteristics of age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality.

Media & Journalism

Racial Equity Tools
Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large.
Diversity Style Guide
This guide, initially a project of the Center for Integration and Improvement of Journalism at San Francisco State University, brings together definitions and information from more than two dozen style guides, journalism organizations and other resources. The guide contains more than 700 terms related to race/ethnicity, disability, immigration, sexuality and gender identity, drugs and alcohol, and geography.

Inclusive Writing Guide (English)

LIBRARY SEARCH

Contact Us