Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers

Frequently requested newspapers

La Presse
  • La Presse: Online version
  • La Presse+: Webpage with information, help, and links to iOS and Android versions of La Presse's mobile application
 
Montreal Gazette
 
Globe & Mail
 
New York Times
 
The Times & The Sunday Times
 
The Chronicle of Higher Education
 
The Financial Times
  • Financial Times (must create personal account through McGill subscription.)

Databases and aggregators

News databases and aggregators collect news from many sources and make it available in one location, in a searchable format. Most of the time you can directly access full text articles, although some databases only contain links to articles, not the articles themselves. News articles from databases and aggregators may not include the accompanying photographs in a story.

PressReader (formerly PressDisplay)

  • Browse online newspapers as if you were browsing their print counterparts.
  • National and international newspapers. Browse by country.
  • See their Quick Start Guide for more information
  • PressReader mobile app available

ProQuest US Newsstream

  • 1984 - present for most titles.
  • Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and other national and regional titles.

ProQuest Canadian Newsstream

ProQuest International Newsstream

  • Recent news content from outside of the US and Canada
  • Archives back decades featuring full-text newspapers, newswires, and news sites.
  • Includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Factiva

  • International and Canadian publications.
  • Search by date, newspaper, author, keyword, subject.
  • Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis)
    • Local, international news, legal sources.

Eureka.cc

  • News from Canadian English and French language newspapers as well as European French language news.
  • Includes the Canadian NewsWire, the Canadian Press, La Presse, Le Devoir, Le Soleil, Le Droit, Le Monde (France)

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)

  • 1970 - present.
  • Unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 210 publications.

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)

  • 1991 - present.
  • Journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.

FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index

Indigenous news sources

APTNnews.ca

  • News from the Aborginal Peoples Television Network.

Eagle Feather News

  • A monthly newspaper serving readers in Saskatchewan's First Nation and Métis communities.

First Nations Drum

  • A national indigenous newspaper distributed across Canada.

Kukukwes.com

  • An independent indigenous news website covering Atlantic Canada.

The Eastern Door

  • A community-based newspaper serving the community of Kahnawake, Quebec.

Nunatsiaq News

  • A newspaper covering Nunavut and Nunavik. Articles are published in English, French, Inuktitut or Inuinnaqtun. 

Nunavut News North

  • One of seven Northern News Services newspapers circulated in NWT and Nunavut. 

Wawatay News

  • A newspaper serving indigenous communities in Northern Ontario. News and features are published in English, Ojibway, OjiCree or Cree. 

Windspeaker

  • One of several news sources operated by the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta and published 24 times a year.

Print newspapers

The library has a selection of current newspapers and news magazines in print. They are available for in-library use only. The Humanities and Social Sciences Library (HSSL) has a selection of recently received print newspapers on the main floor, while additional newspapers may be available at other branches.

HSSL current issues of selected print newspapers on display:

  • Corriere Italiano
  • El Pais
  • Frankfurter Allgemeine
  • La Presse
  • La Republica
  • Le Devoir
  • Le Droit  
  • Le Monde
  • Montreal Gazette
  • National Post
  • New York Times
  • Ren Min Ri Bao
  • The Globe and Mail
  • The Times of India
  • The Times of London
  • Toronto Star
  • Vancouver Sun

Print newspapers - back issues

The McGill Library has a print newspaper archive and a microform collection available on the second floor of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library. Not all newspapers are stored temporarily, as some are discarded weekly. Please keep in mind that even if a newspaper is not kept in microform currently, we may have microform from earlier decades, and we may also have access to online archives.

Stored until the microform is available

  • La Liberte
  • Le Devoir
  • Le Droit
  • Le Monde
  • The Sunday Times
  • The Globe and Mail
  • Times of London
  • Toronto Star

Stored for a set period and then discarded

  • Corriere Italiano - 1 year
  • Frankfurter Allgemaine - 1 year
  • L'Express - 1 year
  • La Presse - 1 year
  • National Post - 1 year
  • Times of India - 1 year
  • Vancouver Sun - 3 months

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice