Guides: Theses & Dissertations: Finding a Thesis or Dissertation

McGill University

Theses and dissertations from McGill University is available in both digital and physical form.

Electronic Access

eScholarship @ McGill
eScholarship@McGill is a digital repository, which collects, preserves, and showcases the publications, scholarly works and theses of McGill University faculty members, researchers, and students.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ McGill
- This link opens in a new window
From 1988 - Present: Summaries and full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as from other participating North American and European institutions.

Printed Copies

McGill Theses via the Library Catalogue
For printed copies, search for theses in the online catalogue. Search your topic and limit by Format: "Thesis, Dissertation"

Canada

Canadian sources are best accessed through academic repositories or by using the Proquest Dissertation and Theses Global database.

Theses Canada
Indexes more than 425,000 Canadian theses and dissertations from 1965. This database also provides free access to over 200,000 full text electronic Canadian theses and dissertations.
Canadian Institutional Repositories (CARL)
CARL supports the systematic archiving of, and access to theses and dissertations of institutional repositories found throughout Canada.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of dissertations from Canadian Universities. Limit your search results by clicking on the University / Institution Location, found on the left-hand side, and selecting "Canada."

Canadian Historical Association
The includes Masters or PhD research projects conducted by students enrolled in history programs at Canadian universities. Find the list of theses by title, author name, university, the year that the thesis was undertaken or completed.

United States and International

Have a specific country or university in mind?

Search using the words "repository," "theses", or "dissertations" with an academic institute of your choice to find additional theses and dissertations.

EBSCO Open Dissertations
With an emphasis on American institutes, search more than 670,000 electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from more than 25 universities worldwide.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of dissertations from McGill University as well as 3,100 worldwide universities. Full-text PDFs available for all non-embargoed dissertations and theses from 1997 – forward, with select full text available prior to 1997.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD currently indexes 4,983,496 theses and dissertations.
British Library Ethos (EThOSnet)
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximize the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. There are approximately 380,000 records in this database relating to theses from over 120 institutions.
African Digital Research Repositories
Find full text dissertations, theses, reports, journal articles from a rage of academic institutes in Africa.

Theses & Dissertations

Need help? Ask us!

Resource key

McGill University

Canada

United States and International