Guides: HIST 596 History of Health and Medicine in Canada, c. 1848-1984: Article Indexes and Databases

History of Medicine and Science

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
(HSTM) The HSTM database, from the Research Libraries Group, provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
The premier bibliographic index of journal articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences from before 1950 on. After a search, one can limit results to the "History of Medicine" subset by clicking on "More Limits".

NOTE: The U.S. National Library of Medicine also offers a free version of Medline called PubMed. This offers access to all parts of MEDLINE but lacks some of the functions made available through the McGill only version.

Print

Recension bibliographique: les maladies infectieuses dans les périodiques médicaux québécois du XIXe siècle
Volume One: Choléra, coqueluche, diphtérie, érysipèle, fièvre jaune, fièvre scarlatine, fièvre typhoïde, gale, grippe, lèpre, malaria, peste, pleurésie, pneumonie, rage, rougeole, tétanos, tuberculose, typhus, variole. Volume Two: Transmissibles sexuellement: blennorragie, chancre mou, syphilis; et les maladies nerveuses et mentales. Osler Reference ZWC 100 P222r folio t.1,1988, t.2. 1995.

English and French references included, often of hard to find material.
Secondary Sources in the History of Canadian Medicine: A Bibliography (2 Volumes).
Osler Reference Folio ZWZ 70 DC2 R744s 1984 and 2000. This indexes a great variety of material (such as articles, book chapters and books) from throughout the twentieth century.

General History

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about Canadian and United States history from the earliest times. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics. To search this you need to select "United States and Canadian History" in the drop down search options.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics. To search this you need to select "World History excluding US and Canada" in the drop down search options.

NOTE: You can search both "America: History and Life" and "Historical Abstracts" simultaneously by selecting both in the choose databases section, the link for this is located next to the database name.

HIST 596 History of Health and Medicine in Canada, c. 1848-1984

History of Medicine and Science

Print

General History

Need help? Ask us!