Guides: HIST 458 What is this Thing Called Disease?: Article indexes and databases

Specific to history of medicine

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
(HSTM)
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology. NOTE: most of the historical medical entries date from 1991 to 2004, so be sure to use additional databases in conjunction to find additional older and more recent sources.

Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the Wellcome Library, includes items published between 1900-1978.

Good to find earlier articles that may not be in HSTM.

LocatorPlus
Online catalogue of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, one of the most important collections of historical material and writings about the history of medicine. Contains records of books and some book chapters and articles.

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and some dissertations on Canadian and US history. Broad subject coverage includes medical topics.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations on world history from 1450 (particularly the West). Note: Excludes Canada and the United States.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisiplinary database of scholarly articles, includes a broad range of topics on history and sociology, including medical sociology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized database in sociology and the social and behavioral sciences from 1952.